Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland- Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit Challenge

alice06

As mentioned before on this blog, my sister and I are taking on a challenge to read some classic children’s literature. The choice for January was Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll.

How did I get it?:
Downloaded free on my Kindle.

Synopsis:

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (1865) is a beloved exciting fantasy novel by Lewis Carroll. It is a unique children’s story of Alice’s Wonderland confrontation with many amusing and entertaining characters. It is fun, fun book that takes the reader into the realm of true imagination.

Thoughts:

Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland is an absolute gem of a children’s book. The reader is sucked into Alice’s world as she experiences the crazy Wonderland. I think what pulls the reader in is Lewis Carroll’s writing style. Writing everything from Alice’s perspective, which is a very young and funny perspective, works because you see everything through the eyes of a child. It’s ridiculous at times but in a good way. It’s perfect for a child who just loves to dream and imagine.

Response to Beth’s review:

You can read Beth’s fabulous review here.

I completely agree with her that the imagination of Lewis Carroll knows no boundaries. He really was an imaginative man. I note she says she loves the Cheshire Cat, but I have to admit to always being slightly afraid of his maniacal grin being left behind. I mean, can you imagine, walking through a forest or something and being met with just a grin?!? I think I’d be terrified now let alone as a child, but maybe I’m just a wimp.

I also couldn’t recall reading about the baby that turns into a pig and wanders off! Seriously weird. Beth is already calling for a Kid-Lit challenge 2014.. methinks she’s enjoying this challenge just as much as I am.

Next up in the Beth and Chrissi do Kit-Lit Challenge: (February)
The Water Babies- Charles Kingsley

Thank you for stopping by today. Please feel free to leave a comment!

