Top Ten Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list is Top Ten Popular Authors I’ve Never Read.

I feel like I should apologise before I even start this list! So.. sorry! If you’ve read and loved these authors tell me why and which one of their books you’ve read that you’d recommend!

In no particular order… (Images taken from Amazon/Goodreads)

5 authors I’ve heard LOADS about but have never checked out:

Stephen King

6278b829a5110ad8986caa_L__V378421613_SX200_

Yep. I’ve never read any Stephen King books before. My sister is a huge fan… but I’m just put off for some reason. I do have two of his books to try soon, so maybe I’ll challenge myself to actually read one.

Terry Pratchett

07bae03ae7a0d9621eeaf110_L__V192269044_

Oh yes, Terry Pratchett is another author that I’ve avoided. Why? No idea!

Jo Nesbo

Nesbo,%20Jo%20NEW%20PHOTO%20headshot%20(med)

My sister really seems to enjoy Jo Nesbo’s books. I’m certainly intrigued… I’m yet to check his books out though.

Nora Roberts

501833c5e8190a7f023540_L__V385948520_SL290_

I swear I hear about Nora Roberts all the time. I haven’t read any of her books though!

Jessica Sorenson

7fa4b7e7020a0a823908b6_L__V361360137_SX200_

I swear I hear/read this lady’s name everywhere! I’m yet to read one of her books though. Should I?

5 authors that seem to be popular in the blogosphere that I haven’t read:

I may be committing some blogger’s crime by admitting I haven’t read any of these authors… but here goes!

Jennifer L.Armentrout

e3311387db4f0ac1d18848_L__V400972771_SY470_

I’ve heard great things about her books, but haven’t got around to them yet!

Sarah J. Maas

5bca415c6e1f0a7f02356c_L__V141055456_SY470_

Again… I’ve heard great things about her books, but I’m yet to pick one up. There’s just not enough time!

Maggie Stiefvater

9fcf5255e0670a7e9d9a0f_L__V376354344_SY470_

I do fully intend to pick up one of Maggie’s books soon, but I haven’t just yet!

Nova Ren Suma

9a51a46700b70a7d936298_L__V185295103_

Another author that I’ve heard great things about…and some not so great things. I’m intrigued enough to want to read her work SOON.

Julie Kagawa

JuliePic

I do intend to start some of Julie Kagawa’s books very soon! I’m intrigued. Loads of blogging friends seem to really love her!

Which authors should I definitely check out? What books of theirs do you recommend? Please leave your links to your Top Ten posts and I’ll check them out!

82 thoughts on “Top Ten Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

  1. To date I’ve only read Nesbo’s Headhunters (because I want to watch the adaptation starring Nikolaj Coster-Waldau–incentive enough, I say ;)) and I really enjoyed it. And Terry Pratchett is a lot of fun, hope you enjoy his Discworld novels when you get to them :)

    My TTT

    • I know my sister really enjoys Jo Nesbo’s books. I probably should try them soon! Glad to know you really enjoyed his work. I’m intrigued by Terry Pratchett, as everyone says such wonderful things about him!

  2. Stephen King was also on my list. It’s pretty much a given that I haven’t read much of any of the currently popular writers, unless I had to read it for a literature class or some such.

    I heard Ms. Sorenson praised on another blog, and was immediately put off when I saw she’s one of those writers who’s into predating naming trends. I just can’t take her seriously as a writer when she has a college-aged guy named Kayden. Fewer things put me off a book faster than seeing such an obviously predated naming trend!

    My TTT

    • I’m trying to read a Stephen King book soon. I’m so intrigued by his writing, as my sister is a massive fan. It’ll be interesting to see what I make of his work! I’ve never really thought about predating naming trend. An interesting point!

  3. We read Stephen King at school (a looong time ago). Apart from that I haven’t read anything by the authors you listed either. I want to say I read Nora Roberts before but I really don’t think I have. Her name’s just so present it seems….

  4. I love the Throne of Glass series so I hope you get to read them. I can’t wait for the third book in the series, I’m so impatient! I read my first Stephen King last year (Under the Dome) and it was okay…It just didn’t entice me to pick up another of his novels since I finished it.

  5. My fiance loves stephen king and has made me read a lot of stephen king. :) He has some really good short stories! I recently read Joyland by him which was really good! Anyway, JENNIFER ARMENTROUT. Go read her! Go read her now!! Seirously, I love her books to pieces! :) Also Sarah J. Maas – omg, throne of glass is my new favorite fantasy series. I love it so much. check it out!!

  6. I think I’ve read just about everything by King and Pratchett too, favourite authors of mine! Jennifer Armentrout is on my list too, and Jessica Sorensen was the author I was trying to think of but couldn’t remember her name! I’ve never read anything by her but I’m pretty sure I have one of her books on my Kindle. Really want to read Jo Nesbo but can never find copies of his books in the library when I go, he’s obviously hugely popular!

    • Yes, I know my sister is quite a fan of Jo Nesbo, so I’m definitely intrigued by his work. I do hope to try most of these authors eventually. They’re definitely on my radar.

  7. Oooh good list! I haven’t read any Terry Prachett either but really want to. Jo Nesbo made my list too. Which Stephen King are you going to attempt? I think you might be pleasantly surprised..!

  8. I’ve only read Terry Pratchett out of that list, and I do love some of his books, not all, but definitely some. He has a great way of writing a story that’s very engaging and amusing, and his characters are incredible.

  9. We had a bunch of overlap! I really need to make Terry Pratchett and Sarah J. Maas happen SOON! And I totally forgot about Kagawa – she should have gone on my list as well!

    As for King, that’s a particular type of book that if you don’t like, you just don’t like. That said, I really enjoyed both The Stand and 11/23/63. That latter one is a time travel book focused on the Kennedy assassination. Really interesting!

    • I’m really interested in reading Sarah J.Maas and Julie Kagawa. I think the rest I could take or leave! 11/23/63 does sound really intriguing. I might have to look that up!

  10. I have only read 1 book from Nora Roberts (Midnight Bayou) and the first book of JL Armentrout’s Covenant series. I have wanted to try quite a few on your list: King, Pratchett, Sorenson, Stiefvater & Kagawa… Where will I find the time!

    Chanzie @ Mean Who You Are.

  11. The only one I have read anything by is Maggie Stiefvater, but it was an installment of the Middle Grade series Spirit Animals that is being written by multiple authors, not her original work.

    Alas, I haven’t read anything by any of the others, and I’m a bit wary of Stephen King because I’m not sure his books are really my thing, I’d probably be hiding under my blankets for weeks. Passing by his house in Maine once was enough to creep me out. Of course, I was ten or so at the time, but it left a lasting impression!

    • I’m really wary of Stephen King too. My sister assures me that Carrie, the book I’m going to try, is quite tame. I still think my imagination will run wild!! I find it really cool that you’ve been past his house! :D

  12. Oh you definitely have to give Terry Pratchett’s books a try! I’ll admit I’ve only read the 4-book set that features the young witch Tiffany Aching as the main heroine (first book is The Wee Free Men), but it was an absolutely fantastic series.

  13. I loved Nation by Terry Pratchett, it’s a very cool book with multiple universes that kind of reminds me of LOST in some ways.
    I love Maggie Stiefvater. She is one of my new favorite authors. You might enjoy her books :)

  14. Stephen King is great. Haven’t read any of his newer stuff but I read The Green Mile along time ago and Fire Starter, great books. Also Armentrout has a couple of great series, I have read her covenant series. thanks for checking out STS, new bloglovin follower ! ~Katie @ Inkk Reviews

  15. I believe the only one I have read is Armentrout which I actually really loved! I might have read a Nesbo novel once, which is crime but I enjoyed it. I have never read any of the others but there are a couple I do want to eventually get to. I hope you can cross a few of these off soon :)

  16. I haven’t read anything by Stephen King either. But I don’t think I will. His books just aren’t for me. But I do really like Armentrout, Stiefvater (seriously, Scorpio Races is AMAZING). And I’ve enjoyed books by Nora Roberts and Jessica Sorensen.

    I realized when I was putting my list together how many author’s I’ve never read, and I feel like I need to remedy that straight up.

    • Maggie Stiefvater is definitely going to go on my must read list! I’ve realised the same thing too, Quinn. There’s just not enough time for all of these brilliant authors.

  17. Well, I haven’t read most of these either! I’ve read a bunch of Maggie Stiefvater’s books, some better than others, but wouldn’t say that any are essential reading. Stephen King, on the other hand!!! Well, I love his writing. I would say for a good taste of old and new King, you could start with The Shining (from 1977) and then read Doctor Sleep, the sequel which just came out this past year. The early horror stuff (Carrie, Salem’s Lot, Pet Semetary) give a good sampling of what he became famous for, but his later works are really spectacular, in my opinion. I loved 11/22/63 and Under the Dome, to name just a couple. I’ve never read Terry Pratchett either and always felt like I should — but he has so many books I wouldn’t know where to start!

    • Ooh wow. I’m intrigued to step into the world of Stephen King. I am scared incredibly easily though. My sister is a huge Stephen King fan, and has recommended Carrie for me first. I shall definitely look at the ones you’ve mentioned and see if I think I can handle them!

  18. I’ve only read half of the authors on this list, and I would tell you to READ THEM!!! BUT I totally get the whole lack of time for the BILLIONS of books out there;) I’ve read Jessica Sorenson, Jennifer L Armentrout, Sarah J Maas, Maggie Stiefvater, and Julie Kagawa. Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas happens to be one of my all-time FAVORITE series, as is The Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa! I love them SO MUCH! The other ladies’ works I’ve read are also bleeping FANTASTIC. Whenever you get the chance, I would definitely check them out;)

    • Arrrgh. I’m definitely going to have to read some of these authors. I’ve just heard too many good things about them. It’s time to try get some of these books on my TBR pile! :D I’m particularly excited by Maggie Stiefvater and Sarah J Maas as everyone seems to be loving their work at the moment! I shall try and check them out.

  19. King is the only one I’ve read on this list. Now there are some on here that I intend to read, and read so I will. LOL! For instance, Sarah Maas’s Throne of Glass, and Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver and Linger books. I actually have all those books I just named sitting in my bookcase, I’ve just never had the chance to read them yet. So many books, so little time. RIGHT?!?!?!
    Check out my list @ Book Hangovers Blabs Books
    xoxox ♥

  20. I’m in the same boat as you with King. Pretty sure my brother has read everything King’s written whereas I have not haha. I actually gave Stiefvater’s Raven Boy’s a whirl but immediately realised that it wasn’t for me — but you might enjoy it!

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts
    My TTT This Week.

  21. Wow, interesting list! Several of these are ones I need to try as well. Stiefvater is an excellent writer, in terms of amazing imagery. Armentrout’s books I’ve read so far (Obsidian, Onyx, part of Opal) are… well, entertaining, but not much in the way of substance. There were definitely things that drove me nuts – I’d say they’re like a quarter step up from Twilight but with aliens instead of vampires and shifters.

    I read a ton of King’s books in high school, and he’s actually a pretty good writer – though his books tend to be WAY longer than necessary. I think my fave was Different Seasons, which was a book of 4 short stories/novellas published under a pen name (Richard Bachman, I think?). Anyway, in it are the stories that became the movies Apt Pupil and The Shawshank Redemption, which is one of my favourite films of all time. So you could start there!

    Pratchett I have tried to read…. I tried the first book in the Discman series and it was so hard to follow and get into that I gave up. However, I absolutely LOVED the book he co-wrote with Neil Gaiman – Good Omens. It was, in my opinion, way better than their individual work and even the footnotes had me laughing so hard my belly hurt.

    Great list ya got here!

    Em from Backlist Books

    • Thank you so much :-) I definitely want to try Maggie Stiefvater, I’ve heard so many wonderful things about her writing. I’m going to try Obsidian by JLA, thanks for warning me that there’s not much substance. I’ll definitely going into reading it with that in mind.

      I really liked The Shawshank Redemption, so maybe I will try Different Seasons! You’ve given me a lot to think about! Thanks.

      • I’ve only read The Raven Boys so far, but there were passages that made me stop, slow down, and re-read two or three times, just to soak in the words. I found her writing particularly poignant when describing Ronan as seen through the eyes of the other boys – which is surprising because at first he seems like a blunt instrument of a character. Here’s a couple of my favourite quotes (don’t worry, no spoiling):

        “As Adam stared at his lap, penitent, he mused that there was something musical about Ronan when he swore, a careful and loving precision to the way he fit the words together, a black-painted poetry. It was far less hateful sounding than when he didn’t swear.”

        Or this one:

        “All at once, he, too, missed Ronan’s charismatic father. But more than that, he missed the Ronan that had existed when Niall Lynch had still been alive. This boy in front of him now, fragile bird in his hands, seemed like a compromise.”

        I don’t know if it’s just a me thing, but these passages just summed up Ronan in a way that direct attempts to describe a character don’t ever quite do. Anyway, probably way more than you needed to know, but I felt like sharing! The plot was up and down for me, but I haven’t read any other books in the series yet and I feel like that might be why. Totally worth it just for the writing, though.

        Obsidian… yeah, it’s definitely a fun read. I personally found it a bit predictable and the relationship thing annoyed the pants off me at times, but I get why lots of bloggers are nuts for her. It all depends on how you like your literary relationships, I think.

        Anyway, I look forward to reading your thoughts if you tackle any of these! :)

  22. Out of all of these I have only read Nora Roberts, so I know how you feel! I really want to read something from Stephen King but I always seem to postpone it!

    As for Nora Roberts…I read 3 of her books (I think…) and they’re not bad. But they all seemed very similar to me, they seemed to follow some sort of mold so I didn’t buy anything else from her. I did enjoy them though! :)

  23. I haven’t read a Stephen King book in years. He has written a variety of books, so I am sure that you can find one that works for you (if you want to read him that is). :)

  24. Wow Stephen King? You need to read The Shining or The Stand. Those books really messed with my head. I haven’t read any Terry Pratchett either. I used to be a huge Nora Roberts fan. I love her McGregor’s series. I have read all her books except for the last one. It’s on my kindle to read sometime this year.
    My TTT

    • My problem is that I have such a vivid imagination! Oops. I tend to really scare myself, so I try and not read scary books. I’m open to trying his books though. I might just have to read it in the day time! ;)

  25. I surprised how many times I’ve seen Stephen King on people’s TTT posts this week! Then again, I guess I follow mostly YA oriented blogs so maybe I shouldn’t be surprised. I HIGHLY recommend Maggie Stiefvater – how writing is so beautiful! Thanks for stopping by earlier!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

