One Moment, One Morning

7606431

How did I get it?:
I borrowed it.

Synopsis:

The Brighton to London line. The 07:44 train. Carriages packed with commuters. A woman applies her make-up. Another occupies her time observing the people around her. A husband and wife share an affectionate gesture. Further along, a woman flicks through a glossy magazine. Then, abruptly, everything changes: a man has a heart attack, and can’t be resuscitated; the train is stopped, an ambulance called. For at least three passengers on the 07:44 on that particular morning, life will never be the same again. Lou witnesses the man’s final moments. Anna and Lou share a cab when they realise the train is going nowhere fast. Anna is Karen’s best friend. And Karen? Karen’s husband is the man who dies. Telling the story of the week following that fateful train journey, One Moment, One Morning is a stunning novel about love and loss, about family and – above all – friendship. A stark reminder that, sometimes, one moment is all it takes, it also reminds us that somehow, and despite everything, life can and does go on.

Thoughts:

This is another of my recent reads that has been recommended by my sister, I’m glad she recommended it. It’s a touching read, which despite its emotional content, is very easy to read. Sarah Rayner writes beautifully and she reminds us all that life can change in one moment. The book started with a woman observing people on the train. Now, come on, how relatable is that? I say nearly all of us has done the people watching thing, be it on the train, on the bus, or waiting for someone. We’re intrinsically nosey! Relating to the story from the start really helped me to like the characters. It was something that could happen to any of us.

I’ve seen criticism that from the tragic event nothing much happens in the story, but I beg to differ. We see three main characters lives change, some forced and some through realising the way they are living their life isn’t what they want. I think the subject matter is dealt with incredibly sensitively. I wouldn’t think twice about reading another book from Sarah Rayner.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

Reading next:
The Other Daughter- Lisa Gardner

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

