The Other Daughter

the-other-daughter-pb1

How did I get it?:
I bought it.

Synopsis:

In Texas a serial killer is executed, taking to his grave the identity of his only child. In Boston a nine-year-old girl is abandoned in a hospital, then adopted by a wealthy young couple. Twenty years later, Melanie Stokes still considers herself lucky. Until …

Melanie had lost all memory of her life before the adoption, and now someone wants to give it back. Even if it includes the darkest nightmare the Stokes family ever faced: the murder of their first daughter in Texas. As Melanie pursues every lead, chases every shadow in the search for her real identity, two seemingly unrelated events from twenty years ago will come together in a dangerous explosion of truth. And with her very life at stake, Melanie will fear that the family she loves the most may be the people she should trust the least.

Thoughts:

This is the first time that I’ve read a book by Lisa Gardner. From reading this, I would definitely check out some more of her work. The Other Daughter, if I’m honest, is a bit far-fetched. Lisa Gardner still had me gripped though. Her writing is easy to read and although the subject matter is not pleasant at all, it’s not too graphic. I thought that I had worked out the ending many times… but I hadn’t which was a good surprise. There were enough twists and turns to keep the reader’s attention.

I think the only issue I had (aside from it being far-fetched) was the characters. Some of them were well developed but I didn’t feel I connected with a lot of the characters which is a shame.

I still intend to read more of Lisa Gardner’s work and I would recommend this book.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

Reading next:
The Song of Achilles- Madeline Miller

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

