Magic Under Glass

6461779

How did I get it?:
I bought it.

Synopsis:

Nimira is a music-hall performer forced to dance for pennies to an audience of leering drunks. When wealthy sorcerer Hollin Parry hires her to do a special act – singing accompaniment to an exquisite piano-playing automaton, Nimira believes it is the start of a new life.

In Parry’s world, however, buried secrets stir. Unsettling below-stairs rumours abound about ghosts, a mad woman roaming the halls, and of Parry’s involvement in a gang of ruthless sorcerers who torture fairies for sport.

When Nimira discovers the spirit of a dashing young fairy gentleman is trapped inside the automaton’s stiff limbs, waiting for someone to break the curse and set him free, the two fall in love. But it is a love set against a dreadful race against time to save the entire fairy realm, which is in mortal peril.

Thoughts:

I loved this beautiful magical book from Jaclyn Dolamore. I thought it was a very original story which kept me gripped! It’s a short read at less than 250 pages and I found myself disappointed that it had finished. The ending was so abrupt but it sets itself up for a sequel which I’m thrilled to find out is available now!

I thought the writing style was absolutely brilliant. Jaclyn describes the setting so wonderfully that you really wish you could see it. Her development of the character Erris, the piano-making automaton/fairy prince, is superb. I really felt compassion for the character and wanted him to be set through. Some of the best parts of this book are the ones in which Nimira and Erris interact.

I found Nimira an interesting character, she’s driven to do her own thing and be successful to prove her worth. I completely fell in love with Erris!

Magic Under Glass is a book that I would highly recommend to those readers that love a bit of magic and romance.

Would I recommend it?:
Without a doubt!

Reading next:
Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland- Lewis Carroll for part of the Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit challenge.
Entangled- Cat Clarke

2 thoughts on “Magic Under Glass

  1. Pingback: Magic Under Glass – Jaclyn Dolamore | bibliobeth

  2. Ah, I remember reading this so long ago! Bloomsbury recently sent me a copy for review, so I am glad to have the opportunity to read it again.
    I remember being in love with the world building, and my favourite scenes were of Erris and Nimira together, as well. Erris was such an amazing character. I never did get around to reading the second book, but hopefully I will once I read this one gain soon!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

