Entangled

Entangled

How did I get it?:
I bought it.

Synopsis:

Winner of the Redbridge Teenage Book Award 2012. The same questions whirl round and round in my head: What does he want from me? How could I have let this happen? AM I GOING TO DIE? 17-year-old Grace wakes up in a white room, with table, pens and paper – and no clue how she got there. As Grace pours her tangled life onto the page, she is forced to remember everything she’s tried to forget. There’s falling hopelessly in love with the gorgeous Nat, and the unravelling of her relationship with her best friend Sal. But there’s something missing. As hard as she’s trying to remember, is there something she just can’t see? Grace must face the most important question of all. Why is she here? A story of dangerous secrets, intense friendships and electrifying attraction.

Thoughts:

I’ve heard so much about Entangled I decided it was time for me to pick it up! It’s a strong debut from Cat Clarke and I would definitely read more of her work. In fact, I’m sure I’ll be making a purchase of Torn very soon.

Entangled deals with some pretty heavy issues, but it’s written in a way that makes you feel intrigued. The idea of Grace waking up in a white room with a table, pen and paper with no recollection of how she got there grips you. It’s really hard to review this book without giving away the twists. I have to admit though, I had completely worked out where Cat was going with the character of Sal.

The main character, Grace, is not an easy character to like. She has massive issues and comes across very selfish. Because of this selfishness, I found it hard to have compassion for her.

Entangled is a decent read, it has all the teenage drama/angst that you’d expect. It deals with some serious issues, I just wish that Grace’s issues were resolved or at least beginning to be resolved towards the end.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

Reading next:
Gone Girl- Gillian Flynn

My review of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland for part of the children’s literature challenge will be up later today.

2 thoughts on “Entangled

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

