Dead Time

image001

How did I get it?:
I bought it.

Synopsis:

Rose and Joshua first met when Joshua and his dad came to live with Rose and her mum. Then their world turns upside down when their mother and father go out for dinner one evening and never return. With police inquiries going nowhere, Rose is dispatched to live with her chilly, unfriendly grandmother and Joshua is sent to live with his uncle. Then Joshua comes to London to study and Rose is witness to not one, but two murders. Why is this happening to Rose? Can it be anything to do with the investigations Joshua has been doing into the disappearance of their parents?

Thoughts:

I’m actually surprised at how much I enjoyed this book. I don’t know why I haven’t heard of Anne Cassidy before, but after recently hearing about her Murder Notebooks series I thought I had better check out the first in the series which is Dead Time. It’s certainly different for me to read a YA crime novel. I’m used to adult crime novels/thrillers so it was nice to experience reading something aimed at a younger audience.

I was drawn into the story from the start. It has some interesting characters and the plot is fast paced and not very predictable, which is always a bonus. It finishes with many questions left unanswered, so I’m glad I have Killing Rachel the next in the series ready to read. The only aspect of the book that I didn’t really like was the growing romantic feelings between Rose and Joshua. It just didn’t seem to me like there was a great connection there, but maybe that’s something that will grow during the series.

I’m looking forward to reading the next in the series very soon. It’s left me wanting to know more.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

Reading next:
An Abundance of Katherines- John Green

2 thoughts on “Dead Time

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

