Killing Rachel

n402733

How did I get it?:
Net Galley- thanks to Bloomsbury Publishing

Synopsis:

Rose’s mother and Joshua’s father have disappeared. Police inquiries have gone nowhere and the case, it seems, is closed: Rose and Joshua have been told that the police believe their parents are dead. But Rose and Joshua still hold out hope that they are alive. Joshua is determined to follow up his own inquiries, which includes working out the meaning of the cryptic notebooks – the murder notebooks – they have discovered. Then Rose is distracted by odd, desperate messages she receives from Rachel, a former best friend from her school, followed by the terrible news that Rachel is dead. But perhaps Rachel’s death will provide one more piece of the puzzle about what has happened to Rose and Joshua’s parents . . .

Thoughts:

I have mixed feelings about this book. I really enjoyed Dead Time, so I was looking forward to reading Killing Rachel. I did find it an interesting read in the series, but I started to feel like it was becoming a bit dragged out.

The main plot for this series is about a girl, Rachel Bliss. Rose had been at boarding school with her. The plot also included more information about the whereabouts of Rose and Josh’s parents. I wasn’t sure the Rachel plot worked until a twist towards the end. It was good to see the point of the inclusion of Rachel Bliss’ death.

Killing Rachel is a good read. I just wish it didn’t feel that it was being dragged out more than necessary. That’s when my interest in the series starts to wane. That said, Anne Cassidy is a good writer and I would read more of her work.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

Reading next:
Windless- Audrey St. Jean (a very short book so don’t be surprised to see a review soon!)

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

