Stig Of The Dump- Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit

stig-of-the-dump-puffin-mo

How did I get it?:
I downloaded it on my kindle specifically for this challenge!

Synopsis:

Stig of the Dump by Clive King is 50 years old and the story of Barney and his best friend, cave-man Stig, is as fresh today as it was when first published.

‘Stig’s nice. He’s my friend’

Nobody believes Barney when he says he’s discovered a boy living wild in the dump. But for Barney, Stif is totally real. They become great friends, learn each other’s ways and embark on a series of exciting adventures.

Thoughts:

This is the fourth book in my sister and I’s kid-lit challenge, taking on classics we remember reading as children. Stig Of The Dump was my choice. I remember reading this book when I was a lot younger. I think I must have been around 8 or 9 years old. Even then I was an avid reader. (Thanks Mum for encouraging me to read!) It’s such a charming book full of adventures. I absolutely love the relationship between Barney and Stig. Stig is so endearing. I do think that Stig Of The Dump is perhaps a bit too dated for our modern day child, but I think they should still be encouraged to read it. It’s imaginative and the written text is just beautiful. I love the simple pen and ink illustrations too.

I haven’t seen the film of Stig Of The Dump, I’m interested to see how it translates to the screen.

Check out Beth’s fab review of Stig Of The Dump here

Next up in the Beth and Chrissi do Kit-Lit Challenge: (May)
Heidi – Johanna Spyri

2 thoughts on “Stig Of The Dump- Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit

  1. Pingback: Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit – APRIL READ – Stig of the Dump – Clive King | bibliobeth

  2. Pingback: Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit – APRIL READ – Stig of the Dump – Clive King | bibliobeth

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

