Heidi- Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit

heidi

How did I get it?:
Free on the Kindle!

Synopsis:

When orphan Heidi is sent to live with her grandfather in the mountains, the two grow to love each other dearly. Heidi charms everyone she meets-but then her strict aunt sends her away again to live in the town. Despite a wonderful new friendship there, Heidi longs to return to her happy life in the mountains. Is there any way she can have both?

Thoughts:

This book was one of Beth’s choices. I remember her really enjoying it when we were younger, so it was pretty much a given that this would appear on our kid-lit challenge list. I don’t think I ever read it when I was younger, so this is my first read of a book that my sister thoroughly enjoyed.

I did enjoy reading Heidi, but I don’t think it’s one of the best children’s classics. Heidi is a very twee read. It’s very sweet and has a real ‘do-good’ message. It’s a very simple story and it is easy enough to read. I loved how descriptive it was. The thing I found most off-putting about the story was the religious undertones. I didn’t expect it to involve so much religion, but then again, this could be to do with the period in which it was written in.

You can read Beth’s review on her blog HERE. I’m sure it’ll be very different to mine, it being a favourite of hers!

Next up in the Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit challenge (June):
A Little Princess- Frances Hodgson Burnett

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

