A Little Princess- Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit

ALittlePrincess

How did I get it?:
Downloaded free on the Kindle.

Synopsis:

Motherless Sara Crewe was sent home from India to school at Miss Minchin’s. Her father was immensely rich and she became ‘show pupil’ – a little princess. Then her father dies and his wealth disappears, and Sara has to learn to cope with her changed circumstances. Her strong character enables her to fight successfully against her new-found poverty and the scorn of her fellows.

Thoughts:

This book was one of my picks for my sister and I’s kid-lit challenge. For my previous reviews and links to Bibliobeth’s please look HERE.

I truly adored this book when I was younger and I’m happy to say I still do. It’s so charming. I thoroughly enjoyed revisiting it. I think it must be one of the sweetest books a girl could read. It portrays a good message about class and poverty.

A Little Princess tells the story of Sara Crewe, a rich girl that’s completely spoiled by her father. She was brought from England to go to boarding school. Whilst Sara could’ve acted as spoiled as she was, she didn’t, she was happy to share her fortune and her imagination with the other girls in her school. This is what I always found so endearing about Sara. I loved her little ways of speaking as well. Sara ends up an orphan and working for Miss Minchin, head of her school. I hated Miss Minchin as a child and I still dislike her now! Miss Minchin uses Sara’s twist of fate as revenge. She’s never really liked Sara, just indulged her because of her wealth. Sara never becomes bitter despite her life changing so much. She remains generous to those around her no matter what class they are. She pretends she’s a princess to keep her spirits high. Just as Sara thinks she’s going to reach breaking point, she encounters her new next door neighbour. He’s an English gentlemen who has been living in India. Their interactions are a joy to read.

I know I’m gushing about this book, but I truly find it a beautiful read with some great characters. I love Sara and her friends Ermengarde and Becky. It gives a strong message about a little kindness going a long way. It’s one of my favourite books of all time.

Please check out Bibliobeth’s wonderful review HERE

Next up in the Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit Challenge (July)
Charlotte’s Web- E.B White

3 thoughts on “A Little Princess- Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit

  1. Pingback: Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit – JUNE READ – A Little Princess – Frances Hodgson Burnett | bibliobeth

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

