Destroy Me

13623150

How did I get it?:
Downloaded it for free on iBooks.

Synopsis:

In Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me, Juliette escaped from The Reestablishment by seducing Warner—and then putting a bullet in his shoulder. But as she’ll learn in Destroy Me, Warner is not that easy to get rid of. . .

Back at the base and recovering from his near-fatal wound, Warner must do everything in his power to keep his soldiers in check and suppress any mention of a rebellion in the sector. Still as obsessed with Juliette as ever, his first priority is to find her, bring her back, and dispose of Adam and Kenji, the two traitors who helped her escape. But when Warner’s father, The Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment, arrives to correct his son’s mistakes, it’s clear that he has much different plans for Juliette. Plans Warner simply cannot allow.

Set after Shatter Me and before its forthcoming sequel, Unravel Me, Destroy Me is a novella told from the perspective of Warner, the ruthless leader of Sector 45

Thoughts:

I am a big fan of Shatter Me. I really enjoyed it and purchased Unravel Me pretty soon after. (I was a bit late reading Shatter Me.) I found out about Destroy Me from some book blogging friends, so I downloaded it. I hate to say this, but I kind of wish I didn’t. I still love Shatter Me and Tahereh’s writing, but I don’t think Destroy Me really added anything special to the story. I appreciate that Destroy Me is a nice bonus for those that feel strongly about this series and couldn’t wait for Unravel Me.

Destroy Me pretty much gives some background for Warner being as cold as he is. Warner’s side of the story makes him have much more redeemable qualities. It makes him seem like he has a heart and makes many readers, it seems, swoon over him. I didn’t fall in love with Warner. I didn’t like him any more or any less. I think I could’ve easily read Unravel Me without reading Destroy Me. It’s nice to have more of a back story, but it’s really not imperative to the story.

Would I recommend it?:
It wasn’t for me!- It’s not that it isn’t good, but I just don’t think it’s necessary.

Reading next-
Charlotte’s Web by E.B White for my Kid-Lit Challenge

4 thoughts on “Destroy Me

  1. I agree, it didn’t make me like Warner any more, but it did help me to understand him. It also made some elements of Unravel Me make more sense. I can’t believe you got it free though, so cool!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

