The Children Of The New Forest- Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit

Children-of-the-New-Forest

How did I get it?:
I downloaded it free on my Kindle.

Synopsis:

Cavalier and Roundhead battle it out in the turbulent setting of the English Civil war and provide the background for this classic tale of four orphans as they face adversity, survival in the forest, reconciliation and eventual forgiveness.

This is the first enduring historical novel for children, which conjures up as much magic today as it did on first publication. The freedom from adult constraint allied with the necessary disciplines to survive in a hostile world make for a gripping read.

Thoughts:

I can’t believe this is the 8th book in our kid-lit challenge. You can read the previous reviews HERE. This was one of my picks, because I heard so much about it and never read it as a child. Without meaning to sound rude, I can see why I didn’t read it as a child. This book is recommended to be read from the age of 9-adult. I don’t particularly think it was an exciting read.

I think the problem with reading books like this now, is that they are incredibly dated. The style they are written in uses quite advanced language and in some cases, language that we don’t really use that much anymore.

The Children of The New Forest’s plot is not complex, which is good. I think children nowadays do tend to like a more exciting plot, but maybe this book would intrigue a child or adult that’s interested in the New Forest. The story is set in 1647. The Arnwood house, the inheritance of Edward Beverley is burnt down during the Civil War. Edward and his siblings have to make their own way in the forest. They are guided by the kind Jacob Armitage. Edward and his siblings have to learn how to fend for themselves. But as they all grow older, Edward and his family begin to be torn apart by politics and the Civil War.

The Children of The New Forest wasn’t really a book I enjoyed. I can see its appeal to some readers, but it wasn’t exciting enough to grasp my attention and really want to recommend it highly.

Check out Bibliobeth’s fabulous review on her blog HERE to see if she felt differently.

Next up in the Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit Challenge (September):
A Wrinkle in Time – Madeleine L’Engle

3 thoughts on “The Children Of The New Forest- Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit

  1. Pingback: Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit – AUGUST READ – The Children of the New Forest – Frederick Marryat | bibliobeth

  2. I read this book when I was younger, and absolutely adored it. I liked the simplicity of it, and remembered just loving the characters. I agree that it’s not action packed, and today’s readers expect a lot more, but I loved that it was character driven and just a story about a bunch of kids.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

