Top Ten Books That You Wish Were Taught In Schools

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the lovely The Broke and The Bookish. Each week they come up with a list for us bloggers to make. This week it is the Top Ten Books That You Wish Were Taught In Schools.

At my secondary school (high school) there weren’t nearly enough contemporary reads. In fact, there weren’t any. We studied Great Expectations by Charles Dickens, Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian, Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare and Lord of The Flies by William Golding. Whilst I’m grateful that I read those books, I really do think there are better books out there. Because I’m not in the school environment (in a high school anyway) I don’t know if these books have crept their way onto the required reading, so take my list to be what I wish I had read when I was at school.

So here are my top ten, (click on the book image to get to the Goodreads page) in no particular order:

17456967

Cross My Heart- Carmen Reid- I cannot recommend this book highly enough. It’s just SO good. One of my favourite books of the year. Carmen Reid is such an amazing talent.

556602

Sarah’s KeyTatiana de Rosnay- This is another incredible read that’s stuck with me for a very long time.

4667024

The HelpKathryn Stockett- I know I feature The Help on quite a few Top Ten Tuesday lists, but it’s awesome. Such great characters.

3437

The Curious Incident of The Dog In The Night TimeMark Haddon– This is another book that frequently visits my Top Ten lists. I just think it’s a wonderfully original piece of writing.

893136

The Book ThiefMarkus Zusak–Β I truly believe that everyone should at leastΒ try this book.

2767052

The Hunger Games- Suzanne Collins- I think this is a great series. If I had read it in school I would have been totally engrossed.

954136

SpeakΒ – Laurie Halse Anderson– I’m aware that some schools do teach this book, but that it has been banned in a lot of states. I think it’s such an important topic, one that shouldn’t be avoided, but handled sensitively.

14050

The Time Traveler’s WifeAudrey Niffenegger- I know not everyone would enjoy it, but I think it’s an interesting concept.

6604794

The Sky Is EverywhereJandy Nelson– This is a truly beautiful read. The writing is superb.

3367956

Hotel On The Corner of Bitter and SweetJamie Ford- I have a lot of love for this book. It’s beautifully written.

Please feel free to leave your link to your Top Ten posts so I can be nosey and see what you’ve included this week!

52 thoughts on “Top Ten Books That You Wish Were Taught In Schools

  1. Sarah’s Key and The Book Thief both would make fantastic cross-curricular reads (not to mention they both made me all ;_;–dunno if I would’ve been able to survive English class emotionally if I read both! But they’re both great reads, very memorable)

    Great list! The selection of books we studied were sort of eclectic but no contemporary titles at all (the closest we got I think was the late 1950s with Daniel Keyes’ Flowers for Algernon).

    My TTT

  2. If I could teach The Hunger Games in my classes I can guarantee you my students’ participation levels would shoot up by 100%. And I would love to teach The Help – or be in a class where we read it! Great list!

  3. It would be nice to read The Hunger Games for school πŸ™‚ I agree with The Help and The Book Thief, they’re amazing books. Some of these I still need to read and have them on my to-read shelf. I need to check out Speak, I haven’t heard of it before. Nice list!

    My Top Ten Tuesday.

    • Thank you Lanaia πŸ™‚ I think some of the required reading at school should be ‘fun’, like the Hunger Games is. It’s an exciting story and I think it would engage a lot of students.

  4. Ohhh I hadn’t heard of Cross My Heart but it sounds great — added it to my TBR list! I also need to read Sarah’s Key!

    The Book Thief (which I am reading hopefully this month) & Speak seem to be on a lot of lists. Teacher’s should take note πŸ™‚

    Great list! Thanks for stopping by my TTT post earlier! Have a great day πŸ™‚

  5. Cross My Heart looks SO good!! I definitely want to look into reading it. I totally almost put The Sky is Everywhere and The Time Traveler’s Wife on my list too!! And I didn’t realize that some schools actually did teach Speak… they SO should! Also Hunger Games isn’t a bad idea if it gets people to see how entertaining reading can be πŸ™‚

    Thanks for stopping by My TTT

    • You’re welcome, thank you for the return visit. They should definitely teach Speak in ALL schools. It’s an important book. I’m glad you’re going to look into reading Cross My Heart. I can’t recommend it highly enough!

  6. Ohh, lots here that I haven’t heard of, but yes yes yes to The Curious Incident! That is such an amazing book. I got goosebumps when I read it. I didn’t even think about it for this list, but you’re absolutely right. Good stuff!

    Denise @ Life With No Plot

  7. I haven’t read many of these, but they all look pretty amazing – and they look like books that could really be read in school! I’m just now finally getting to reading The Book Thief (just got it from the library). I’ve heard so many amazing things about it, I couldn’t put it off any longer!

  8. Great choices! I don’t know how I forgot about The Help. And the Sky of Everywhere is a good one, too. Since I did the pairings with classic books option I struggled with not being able to think of any classic books about death to pair something like that or If I Stay with.

  9. Luckily The Curious Incident is taught in the schools around here, but none of these other great ones are. The Book Thief 100% should be at the very least on all the high school reading lists. Great picks!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

