Short Story Sunday #1: The Alibi- Daphne du Maurier

I’ve noticed during my October Challenge to read more books from my Kindle that I have quite a lot of short stories, mainly sent to me by my sister.. I have to admit she is responsible for about 90% of the content on my jam packed Kindle. She’s also responsible for my growing interest and new found appreciation of short stories after reviewing many for her Short Stories Challenge.

So, I thought I’d read a short story when I can on a Sunday. Why on a Sunday? Well, I always find my reading slows a little on a Sunday. My interests seem to be elsewhere and my mind on the upcoming week. A short story is perfect for this kind of mood and it means I’m not starting loads of new books because I can’t settle on a read.

My first choice as recommended by the sister was The Alibi from The Breaking Point collection by Daphne du Maurier.

I’ve only ever read Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier, although I have a LOT of her works to get to. I thought The Alibi was such an intriguing read.  It’s about James Fenton, who becomes alarmed with his life when he realises his life is stuck in a rut. He’s always doing the same thing. The idea of doing the same thing every week alarms James. He doesn’t want to live his life knowing what he’s going to do. He wants to do something completely different to shake up his life.  Boy, does he do something different..

I really enjoyed reading this story. The main protagonist isn’t likeable at all, but he’s the one you’re interested in. I found myself wondering what on earth he was going to do. I thought when I started the story, that it was going to be a tale about a man who has an affair to spice up his life a little. It definitely wasn’t what I was expecting though, which I loved.

I can’t believe I haven’t read more Daphne du Maurier before. I can’t wait to get stuck into more of her work.

Read Beth’s review of The Alibi HERE

2 thoughts on “Short Story Sunday #1: The Alibi- Daphne du Maurier

  1. I read Rebecca when I was in high school and loved it. I don’t know why I never looked for other books by Du Maurier. This is a great idea for a challenge!!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

