Oliver Twist- Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit

imagesCAF4ZPZU

How did I get it?:
Downloaded free for my Kindle.

Synopsis:

A workhouse orphan, Oliver experiences the terror and brutality of the criminal underworld. His companions, a thief, a whore, a pickpocket and a fence are destined for gruesome ends but Oliver emerges unscathed from the underworld. These audio cassettes contain the complete and unabridged story.

Thoughts:

I know this is a bit of a cheat, for a kid-lit challenge, but I read Oliver Twist when I was fairly young. So I thought it was a welcome inclusion to our little challenge. This book is so well known. I’ve read it before, seen the movie (of course) and also watched the musical in the West End.

I forgot how long-winded the actual novel of Oliver Twist is. It seemed to go on a lot longer than I remembered. There’s no doubt that Charles Dickens was a talented writer and creator of some amazing names, but boy, did he go on at some points! I found Oliver Twist to be incredibly long winded. It was one of those books, where he could’ve said the same thing in at least half of the words.

Still, it was enjoyable enough and I’ll always appreciate his stories. I do think I prefer the movie version of Oliver, which is unusual for me, but I think they adapted the book incredibly well.

Check out Bibliobeth’s thoughts on Oliver Twist on her blog HERE

Next up in the Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit Challenge (November):
Northern Lights/The Golden Compass – Philip Pullman

3 thoughts on “Oliver Twist- Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit

  1. Pingback: Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit – OCTOBER READ – Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens | bibliobeth

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

