Blog Tour: Sia by Josh Grayson

sia-banner

18482726

Synopsis:

When seventeen-year-old Sia wakes up on a park bench, she has no idea who or where she is. Yet after a week of being homeless, she’s reunited with her family. At school, she’s powerful and popular. At home, she’s wealthy beyond her dreams. But she quickly realizes her perfect life is a lie. Her family is falling apart and her friends are snobby, cruel and plastic. Worse yet, she discovers she was the cruelest one. Mortified by her past, she embarks on a journey of redemption and falls for Kyle, the “geek” she once tormented. Yet all the time she wonders if, when her memories return, she’ll become the bully she was before…and if she’ll lose Kyle.

Thoughts:

Sia completely grabbed me with the cover and the synopsis. I thought it sounded like a fantastic read and something that I’d really enjoy reading. Sia was an incredibly easy book to read, but at times it was too simplistic and Disney-esque for me to truly believe.

The story begins with Sia waking up on a park bench. She’s not sure where she is or who she is. She spends a week surviving on the streets with the help of Carol, a homeless lady that approaches her. After the week, she is reunited with her parents. Her parents are incredibly rich but come with their problems. They might have to become bankrupt and her mother is an alcoholic. Sia begins to learn what she was like before the memory loss and she doesn’t like her old self at all.

I have to say that I didn’t initially warm to Sia. I thought she was incredibly shallow. I know this was the writer’s intention though, as Sia came to realise how shallow her life was. I just could have done without the constant reminders about how beautiful she was. Sia has such a dramatic turnaround rather quickly in the story that it doesn’t come across as very credible and this is the Disney-esque feel that I mention. That’s not a negative comment though, I have no problem with Disney, but with real issues like the ones mentioned in this book, it’s not what I look for. However, I know that loads of people will love Sia. It’s just so easy to read and it does have that fairy tale feel.

My other problem with the book was the dramatic turnaround a lot of the other characters have. I don’t mind a happily ever after ending, but again, I had problems with the believability of the story. It didn’t seem true to what happens in real life.

I didn’t dislike Sia though. I read it quickly and I was intrigued to know what happened next. I thought Josh Grayson’s writing was good and incredibly readable. I just didn’t buy into the story. It was too neatly and easily solved.

NOTE: I’ve just read that Josh is submitting the screenplay to Disney and ABC Family next year. I do think Sia would be perfect for Disney!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!- I think fans of a feel-good, fairy tale, young adult read would enjoy this!

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Sia by Josh Grayson

  1. This looks really good. I read another review yesterday about a new ‘memory loss’ book. Maybe they are the new craze!
    I get what you mean about the Disney-esque-ness of some books. It feels a bit too clean when everyone learns their lesson and becomes a better person by the end of the story.
    I will definitely be checking this one out though, and will probably end up watching it as well. Thanks for the review! 🙂

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

