Beth and Chrissi do Kid Lit: Northern Lights/The Golden Compass

images

How did I get it?:
Beth sent it to me!

Synopsis:

“Without this child, we shall all die.” Lyra Belacqua and her animal daemon live half-wild and carefree among scholars of Jordan College, Oxford. The destiny that awaits her will take her to the frozen lands of the Arctic, where witch-clans reign and ice-bears fight. Her extraordinary journey will have immeasurable consequences far beyond her own world…

Thoughts:

This was one of Beth’s choices and I can’t believe we both hadn’t read this book before! Beth was reading it when she came to visit and she was completely gripped by it, so I was excited to see how I felt. I enjoyed it and thought it was an engaging read, but I wasn’t as blown away by it as she was (Sorry Beth!).

Please don’t think I didn’t enjoy it! I did. I thought the writing was great, so descriptive and Philip Pullman’s ideas were so imaginative. There are some truly wonderful ideas that I can imagine get everyone’s imaginations racing. That’s ideally what any writer wants from a book. I can imagine children and adults alike being captivated by the action. I thought there was enough action and enough narrative. The characters were good and likeable enough. I loved the idea of everyone having a daemon.

I can’t put my finger on why I didn’t love this book as much as my sister did. It’s got nothing really wrong with it that stands out to me. I would recommend this book, because I do think Pullman’s ideas are fabulous and something that everyone will enjoy. I just think for the younger age it’s directed towards, it’s quite a difficult book, with some quite tricky terminology to grasp. That said, when it is grasped, it’s a wonderful story, well told.

Beth’s review is going to be much more glowing than mine, so make sure you check it out TOMORROW HERE.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

Reading for our FINAL Kid-Lit Challenge of 2013:
The Railway Children- E. Nesbit

11 thoughts on “Beth and Chrissi do Kid Lit: Northern Lights/The Golden Compass

  1. I’ve tried to read this four time and bought it twice lol. The weird thing is nothing major seems to stop me reading it, I’m interested but I get distracted…Sigh, gonna give it another shot now and see how I go!

  2. I liked Northern Lights and bought the second book in the trilogy, The Subtle Knife, afterwards but haven’t got around to reading it yet. I do plan to read it eventually but I get pulled towards other books so that series has been put on the long finger. I’m not sure what it is, but I just don’t have the urge to find out what happens to Lyra next.

  3. Pingback: Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit – NOVEMBER READ – Northern Nights/The Golden Compass – Philip Pullman | bibliobeth

  4. Are you going to read the rest of series? PLEASE SAY YOU ARE GOING TO READ THE REST OF THE SERIES!! I think you will find what you were missing in this book in the other two. Trust me.

    OH MY GOD YOUR BLOG HAS SNOW!!! I just noticed this! Wait hold on a second did you just change your whole look? …I’m so unobservant

    • I’m definitely going to give it a try! Yes, my blog has snow 😀 Haha! I’ve changed the theme as for some reason my old theme changed and I didn’t like the way it looked. 😦 You’re not unobservant, I’ve only just done it!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

