Goodbye Rebel Blue

17290286

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

Rebecca Blue is a rebel with an attitude whose life is changed by a chance encounter with a soon-to-be dead girl. Rebel (as she’s known) decides to complete the dead girl’s bucket list to prove that choice, not chance, controls her fate. In doing so, she unexpectedly opens her mind and heart to a world she once dismissed—a world of friendships, family, and faith. With a shaken sense of self, she must reevaluate her loner philosophy—particularly when she falls for Nate, the golden boy do-gooder who never looks out for himself. Perfect for fans of Jay Asher’s blockbuster hit Thirteen Reasons Why, Coriell’s second novel features her sharp, engaging voice along with realistic drama and unforgettable characters.

Thoughts:

I’ve been so excited to read this book. I have Shelley Coriell’s debut waiting to be read on my shelf, but Goodbye Rebel Blue felt like it was calling to me to pick it off the shelf. 😉 I was very much impressed with Shelley’s writing, but I think I expected a bit more from Goodbye Rebel Blue. Don’t get me wrong, it was still a good read. It just wasn’t a unique, stand out read for me.

Goodbye Rebel Blue is about the rebel girl figuring out who she really is. Rebel Blue meets Kennedy Green in detention. They are told to spend their time writing bucket lists. At the end of detention, they through their bucket lists away and go their separate ways. Unfortunately, Kennedy is in an accident that night, and dies. Rebel decides to carry out Kennedy’s bucket list in honour of her. The only trouble is, Kennedy was a completely different person to Rebel. Kennedy was a ‘do-gooder’. Whilst carrying out Kennedy’s items on the bucket list, Rebel finds herself changing who she is.

I thought Goodbye Rebel Blue had some good characters that are developed well throughout. It might not be very believable that Rebel carried out Kennedy’s list in a few months when those are wishes of a lifetime, but the book doesn’t suffer because of this. It’s quick and easy to read. It’s well worth taking a look at.

Would I recommend it?
Yes!

Reading next:
Dead Jealous- Sharon Jones

8 thoughts on “Goodbye Rebel Blue

  1. I think it has a very intriguing premise, but if you say that she completes the bucket list in a matter of months, that just doesn’t sit well with me. Bucket lists are like these big life wishes, right? It would seem a little odd how she can finish them all so fast. But I’m sure if I can look past that, it would be a great read for me. It does really intrigue me!

    • I think that’s the only thing that really stopped me giving this book four stars. It just wasn’t that realistic. If you can look past it, then it’s definitely worth checking out.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.