Aesop’s Fables: Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit

untitled

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

Aesop’s celebrated collection of fables has always been popular with both adults and children. These simple tales embody truths so powerful, the titles of the individual fables – the fox and the grapes, the dog in the manger, the wolf in sheep’s clothing and many others – have entered the languages and idioms of most European tongues.

Thoughts:

I’ve always known about Aesop’s Fables. I remember my teacher reading some to the class when I was younger.

I think Aesop’s Fables do carry some important moral lessons, but I think the morals are quite often repeated, I found myself getting a bit bored after a while. Some of the morals are important though, and I think still as timeless today as they were when they were first published. In the particular edition I read, there are some lovely illustrations. I think they’d definitely be more appealing in colour, which I’m sure you probably can get. In the edition I had, the morals weren’t always explained. I think it’s important that they are explained as some of them are quite obscure for children.

Whilst my re-reading of Aesop’s Fables was interesting to look at from an adult’s point of view, I didn’t find them as interesting as I’d hoped I would. They were good, and certainly many of them raised a smile, but I just wish they were presented in a better way for young children to enjoy.

Please check out Beth’s review on her blog!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

Reading next for Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit (February):
Through The Looking Glass- Lewis Carroll

One thought on “Aesop’s Fables: Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit

  1. Pingback: Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit 2014 – JANUARY READ – Aesop’s Fables by Aesop | bibliobeth

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

