Ignite Me: Spoiler Free Review

13188676

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously read by the same author:
Shatter Me
Destroy Me
Unravel Me

Synopsis:

The heart-stopping conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series, which Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, called “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love”

Juliette now knows she may be the only one who can stop the Reestablishment. But to take them down, she’ll need the help of the one person she never thought she could trust: Warner. And as they work together, Juliette will discover that everything she thought she knew-about Warner, her abilities, and even Adam-was wrong.

In Shatter Me, Tahereh Mafi created a captivating and original story that combined the best of dystopian and paranormal and was praised by Publishers Weekly as “a gripping read from an author who’s not afraid to take risks.” The sequel, Unravel Me, blew readers away with heart-racing twists and turns, and New York Times bestselling author Kami Garcia said it was “dangerous, sexy, romantic, and intense.” Now this final book brings the series to a shocking and climactic end.

Thoughts:

Oh, I don’t know where to begin with reviewing this book. Don’t worry, I’m not going to spoil it for those of you that haven’t read Ignite Me yet, or those of you that haven’t started the trilogy yet…(do it, do it, do it!) I received Ignite Me just a few days ago, I began to read it soon after. I couldn’t put it down. I really feel like Tahereh Mafi has done a marvellous job with Ignite Me. It’s the perfect ending to the series and I didn’t think I’d say that. I don’t want to say why, because again, I don’t want to spoil it. I know how annoying that is.

Juliette seems like a completely different character in this book. Gone are the crossings out. Juliette knows her own mind. She’s matured, and that really comes across beautifully. I love how Juliette has developed through the trilogy. She’s such a strong character (in more ways than one!) I still absolutely adore Kenjii. He could possibly be the best secondary character that I’ve read in a long time. He’s just awesome. I want a Kenjii.

I have to admit to being Team I-Don’t-Care-Who-She-Ends-Up-With after Unravel Me. I’m just one of those people who didn’t have strong feelings either way. I know, I know… Sacrilege! However, after reading Ignite Me, I am VERY happy with who Juliette chooses. I can see and understand her reasons why and it’s a perfect ending for both characters. (Swerving a spoiler again!)

My only grumble with Ignite Me was the ending seemed very rushed. This didn’t affect my rating of the book though, things were resolved, it was just fast and action-packed. Normally not a bad thing, but I was thoroughly enjoying the action and would’ve liked it to have played out a bit more.

I shall leave you with this quotation:
Words are like seeds, I think, planted into our hearts at a tender age.
They take root in us as we grow, settling deep into our souls. The good words plant well. They flourish and find homes in our hearts. They build trunks around our spines, steadying us when we’re feeling most flimsy; planting our feet firmly when we’re feeling most unsure. But the bad words grow poorly. Our trunks infest and spoil until we are hollow and housing the interests of others and not our own. We are forced to eat the fruit those words have borne, held hostage by the branches growing arms around our necks, suffocating us to death, one word at a time.

p.358-9

❤

Would I recommend it?:
Without a doubt!

Reading next:
The Storyteller- Jodi Picoult

15 thoughts on “Ignite Me: Spoiler Free Review

  1. I actually really liked the ending – Juliette’s story had come to a close and so I was satisfied with it.
    Lovely review, Chrissi! I want to re-read Ignite Me now!

  2. I am beyond nervous about this one… I’ve seen five star reviews and one star reviews and not very many in between. I have a copy of Ignite me sitting in front of me taunting me to get around to reading it. Thanks for the spoiler free review!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

