Through The Looking Glass: Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit

83346

How did I get it?:
I borrowed it from Beth!

Previously read from the same author:
Alice In Wonderland

Synopsis:

In 1865, English author Charles Lutwidge Dodgson (1832-1898), aka Lewis Carroll, wrote a fantastical adventure story for the young daughters of a friend. The adventures of Alice-named for one of the little girls to whom the book was dedicated-who journeys down a rabbit hole and into a whimsical underworld realm instantly struck a chord with the British public, and then with readers around the world. In 1872, in reaction to the universal acclaim *Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland* received, Dodgson published this sequel. Nothing is quite what it seems once Alice journeys through the looking-glass, and Dodgson’s wit is infectious as he explores concepts of mirror imagery, time running backward, and strategies of chess-all wrapped up in the exploits of a spirited young girl who parries with the Red Queen, Tweedledee and Tweedledum, and other unlikely characters. In many ways, this sequel has had an even greater impact on today’s pop culture than the first book.

Thoughts:

I was warned by Beth that this book was really, really odd. I remember being a little disturbed by Alice in Wonderland. I couldn’t remember it being as odd as it was. Lewis Carroll really was an eccentric writer. What strikes me with this series of books, is how old fashioned they are. Yes, that’s me making an incredibly obvious statement, seeing as the book is old, but what I mean is the language used is certainly not language that is used in children’s literature today.

In Through the Looking Glass we follow Alice’s adventures once more. We don’t experience all of the same characters from Alice In Wonderland, yet I still found the characters interesting enough. In particular, I really liked the scene between Alice and Humpty Dumpty. Like the first book, the dialogue is incredibly witty. There is a lot more poetry in this book, so be mindful of that, if poetry isn’t your thing.

I think in some ways, I preferred Through The Looking Glass, maybe it’s because I was more familiar with the character and knew how strange it would be. It’s not an essential read though, so if you haven’t read it, and don’t plan to, I don’t think you’ll be missing out.

Check out Beth’s review of Through The Looking Glass on her blog

Reading next for the Kid-Lit Challenge (March):
Little Women- Louisa May Alcott (*fangirls* one of my favourites!)

10 thoughts on “Through The Looking Glass: Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit

  1. Pingback: Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit 2014 – FEBRUARY READ – Through The Looking Glass and What Alice Found There by Lewis Carroll | bibliobeth

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

