Little Women: Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit

1934

How did I get it?:
I downloaded it free on my Kindle.

Synopsis:

In picturesque nineteenth-century New England, tomboyish Jo, beautiful Meg, fragile Beth, and romantic Amy come of age while their father is off to war.
Thoughts:

I’m going to be honest, Little Women is one of my favourite books of all time. I have re-read it SO many times and every single time that I do read it, I get the warm fuzzies. It’s just comfort literature for me. I can’t remember how old I was when I read this book. I just know that it’s been in my life for a long time! It will always have a special place in my heart. It’s a long book, especially for children’s literature, but it’s never and did never feel too long for me.

Little Women is a story about four young ladies living in New England during the Civil War. Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy don’t have as much money as they used to, but they get by, thanks to their own creativity. They are living with their beloved Marmee while their father is away treating wounded soldiers. The little women meet Laurie, their new next door neighbour. Laurie becomes an important person in each of their lives and likewise for the women in Laurie’s life.

What I love so much about the little women is that they are incredibly self sufficient. The characters that Louisa May Alcott has created are so vibrant. Each one is so different and takes a different life path. Jo March is one of my favourite literary characters. She’s tomboy-ish and an incredibly gifted writer. I love how Louisa May Alcott recognises the importance of family. I really got that community feel from the book. The little women suffer with their father’s absence, illness in the family, lack of money and a death. They come together to cope. I also love how Louisa May Alcott showed the girls cared for others that were needier than themselves. I think they gained a lot of their kind qualities from their Marmee. Marmee is one of the kindest mothers that I’ve ever read in a children’s classic.

Little Women may feel old fashioned, especially to today’s child, but I truly believe it’s an enriching, fantastic read which has stayed with me for so many years. I imagine I will re-read it again in the future. It’s too good not to.

For Beth’s review, please click HERE.

Reading Next for the Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit Challenge (April):The Magicianโ€™s Nephew- C.S Lewis

8 thoughts on “Little Women: Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit

  1. Pingback: Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit 2014 – MARCH READ – Little Women by Louisa May Alcott | bibliobeth

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

