Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit: The Wind In The Willows

5659

How did I get it?:
I downloaded free for my kindle!

Synopsis:

Meet little Mole, willful Ratty, Badger the perennial bachelor, and petulant Toad. In the almost one hundred years since their first appearance in 1908, they’ve become emblematic archetypes of eccentricity, folly, and friendship. And their misadventures-in gypsy caravans, stolen sports cars, and their Wild Wood-continue to capture readers’ imaginations and warm their hearts long after they grow up. Begun as a series of letters from Kenneth Grahame to his son, The Wind in the Willows is a timeless tale of animal cunning and human camaraderie.

Thoughts:

This month’s Kid-Lit challenge was the classic The Wind In The Willows written by Kenneth Grahame. This book was Beth’s choice, she has very fond memories of it as a child. I remember her copy, it was a large hardback book full of beautiful illustrations. I remember looking at her copy, but never reading the story, so I was excited to finally get to read it!

This is the cover of the book Beth had. I remember it so vividly.

This is the cover of the book Beth had. I remember it so vividly.

The Wind In The Willows is a charming piece of children’s literature. What strikes me about these ‘older’ pieces of children’s literature is how different the writing is compared to more recent pieces of children’s literature. It’s quite dated, so I’m not sure it would appeal to young children of today. I thought The Wind In The Willows was incredibly descriptive and I wonder if it could be seen as overly descriptive? Description is something that I enjoy reading as an adult, but I’m not sure that all children would feel engrossed by the long winded descriptions in the story.

That said, I did think that The Wind In The Willows was an endearing read that had some beautiful writing within its pages. It’s such a typically British story. It definitely had that quintessential, quaint feel to it. The characters are lovable. I particularly liked the character of Mole, he’s just such a decent character. He’s so homely, patient and kind. I loved how although Toad wasn’t the nicest character, his interactions with the other animals show true friendship!

Even though I don’t think every modern day child would enjoy The Wind In The Willows, I think it’s worth remembering and sharing with children.

For Beth’s review, please check out her review on her blog HERE!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

Reading next in the Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit Challenge:
The Wonderful Wizard Of Oz – L. Frank Baum

8 thoughts on “Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit: The Wind In The Willows

  1. Pingback: Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit 2014 – JUNE READ – The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame | bibliobeth

  2. I haven’t read this one and it’s been on my TBR for ages. And I love typically British stories. In fact they’re my favorites. Happy reading! 😀 (totally stole that phrase from you 😉 )

  3. Ooh, there are so many famous books on this list that I’ve been meaning to try and read, like A Brave New World, or 1984. I Capture the Castle is a great book, so fun to read. You should definitely read that one. I highly recommend it.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

