More Than This

17262303

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

A boy called Seth drowns, desperate and alone in his final moments, losing his life as the pounding sea claims him. But then he wakes. He is naked, thirsty, starving. But alive. How is that possible? He remembers dying, his bones breaking, his skull dashed upon the rocks. So how is he is here? And where is this place? It looks like the suburban English town where he lived as a child, before an unthinkable tragedy happened and his family moved to America. But the neighbourhood around his old house is overgrown, covered in dust and completely abandoned. What’s going on? And why is it that whenever he closes his eyes, he falls prey to vivid, agonizing memories that seem more real than the world around him? Seth begins a search for answers, hoping that he might not be alone, that this might not be the hell he fears it to be, that there might be more than just this…

Thoughts:

I don’t know what it was about this book, but I’ve been dying to read it for a very long time now. I finally got a copy when I went to visit Luna from Luna’s Little Library. Others books on my TBR took priority over More Than This, so I’ve taken a while to get to it. I’m glad I finally got to read More Than This because I thought it was an incredibly well written book which I devoured.

More Than This has an incredibly gripping start. It starts with a boy drowning. The reader doesn’t know how or why he got into the water. He doesn’t even know who he is. He’s incredibly tired, disorientated and it is totally alone in a strange world where no one seems to be. The world is incredibly eerie, it’s full of weeds, dust and it is desolate.  I thought Patrick Ness really built up this creepy, intriguing world well. I was gripped and wanted to know just what had happened to the main character.

Slowly,  we find out the boy is called Seth. He starts to come to terms with his situation. He finds objects and items that help him survive. He starts to explore his environment. Seth starts to have vivid dreams every time he falls asleep. It is through these dreams that Seth and the reader learn about what happens to him. I must say More Than This can be incredibly confusing, but try and stick with it. The whole book is quite unclear and I believe that Patrick Ness did this deliberately. It makes us question what’s real and what’s not and if there’s ever anything more than this!

More Than This is a fairly long read at nearly 500 pages, but I can honestly say, it never felt like I was dragging my way through it. It’s fast paced, intriguing and has very short chapters, so if you’re anything like me you’ll whizz through it, if you keep telling yourself ‘Just one more chapter…’

I don’t want to say too much, as I don’t want to ruin it for those that haven’t read it. What I will say though, is that it’s not a light, happy read. It’s bleak. So don’t expect to go into the book and expect resolutions and happiness. It’s confusing, brutal and makes you question everything.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!- 4.5 stars

Perfect for thriller fans or those that enjoy being utterly confused by a book!

15 thoughts on “More Than This

  1. Pingback: Book Review: “More Than This” | The Cheap Reader

  2. So glad you liked it! This was my second Patrick Ness book (the first being A Monster Calls) and I thought it was amazing, it’ll be sitting on my shelves for a long time. Now I just need to start the Chaos Walking trilogy!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

