Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit: The Wonderful Wizard Of Oz

236093

How did I get it?:
Downloaded free for my kindle!

Synopsis:

Dorothy, the Tin Woodman, Scarecrow, the Cowardly Lion, and a host of other curious creatures come to life as they set out on an exciting quest down the Yellow Brick Road in search of the elusive Wizard. Reset in large, clear type and accompanied by 20 beautiful black-and-white illustrations. A selection of the Common Core State Standards Initiative. After a cyclone transports her to the land of Oz, Dorothy must seek out the great wizard in order to return to Kansas.

Thoughts:

I don’t think I’ve ever actually read The Wonderful Wizard Of Oz, I of course, have seen the film and the stage show numerous times. I was excited to start it and happy to find out it wasn’t too different from what I expected. There are some differences though, but I found them to be fun!

The first half of the book is very close to the classic film. Dorothy and her dog Toto get whisked away by a tornado and land in Oz accidentally killing the Wicked Witch of The East. Dorothy immediately wants to get home, so she starts an adventure along the yellow brick road to get help from the great Wizard who lives in the Emerald City. We of course, meet the Scarecrow and the Tinman, but we hear a lot more of their back stories than I recall in the film. After the friends have got to Oz, we follow them on an adventure that we didn’t see during the film. It’s really quite quirky!

The Wonderful Wizard Of Oz is easy to read and a charming story for children and adults alike. I think it’s particularly suitable that the chapters are so short and snappy. The only thing holding me back from really loving this book, was that I’m so used to the film version that I already had pictured what Oz should look like and I couldn’t quite get that picture out of my head. It was fun to spot the differences between the film and the book though. It’s not often I read the book after I’ve seen the movie!

For Beth’s thoughts on The Wonderful Wizard of Oz check out her wonderful post HERE

Next up in Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit:
The Swiss Family Robinson-Johann David Wyss

6 thoughts on “Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit: The Wonderful Wizard Of Oz

  1. Hm, maybe I should read the book to. I’ve watched the original movie and some other movies featuring the characters but I’ve never really thought of reading it. Nice review.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

