Solitaire

20618110

How did I get it?:
Received at YALC for review consideration!

Synopsis:

In case you’re wondering, this is not a love story.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year – before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people – I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that’s all over now.

Now there’s Solitaire. And Michael Holden.

I don’t know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don’t care about Michael Holden.

I really don’t.

This incredible debut novel by outstanding young author Alice Oseman is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and all unflinchingly honest writers.

Thoughts:

I’d heard a lot of buzz about Solitaire from around the blogosphere, so when I got my hands on a copy I was very excited to start it. Solitaire is a really promising debut with a protagonist that I’m sure many will identify with due to the incredibly authentic teenage voice.

I didn’t really know a lot about Solitaire, but I knew from the buzz surrounding it that it was something that I really wanted to read. I knew it was about a girl who loved blogging and sleeping (totally identifying there!), but other than that, I wasn’t sure what it was about. I honestly think it’s better going into it blind. You learn more about the story as you read it, which is why I’m not going to say much about the plot. Trust me, it’s better that way!

I was really impressed by Alice Oseman’s writing. As I mentioned, the teenage voice is incredibly authentic. It reads exactly like a teenager, which is not surprising, as Alice is still young herself.  Tori, is a ‘typical’ teenager and I think every reader will be able to relate to her in one way or another. I could identify with Tori even though I am older than her.Reading Solitaire felt like reading someone’s diary, it felt like a very personal look into Tori’s life. Tori is so sarcastic. I loved her sarcasm and her despair at having to read Pride and Prejudice. She actually shared some of the same views as me about that book! The other characters in the story are just as compelling as Tori. They’re incredibly well rounded and memorable.

I loved how Solitaire wasn’t just a love story. Of course, there’s attraction in there, it wouldn’t be a story about teenagers if there wasn’t. I thought Solitaire was much more than a love story. It was a realistic, gritty, relatable, modern piece of fiction which I think many would enjoy.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

A very accomplished debut with an incredibly authentic teenage voice. I think those that enjoy John Green and Rainbow Rowell’s books would thoroughly enjoy Solitaire!

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Solitaire

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.