Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit: The Swiss Family Robinson

62111

How did I get it?:
Downloaded free for my kindle!

Synopsis:

Shipwrecked passengers on a deserted island: how will they survive? After their ship founders at sea, the Robinsons—father, mother, and four sons—find themselves stranded in an uninhabited, idyllic land. Young readers will enjoy watching them handle every crisis with cleverness and skill.

Thoughts:

I have to say, I didn’t get on with The Swiss Family Robinson as much as I wanted to. I can see that it is definitely appealing to those that enjoy an adventurous classic. It definitely has an old-fashioned feel to it. The language in particular can be quite hard to read at times. It doesn’t always flow as well as I would’ve liked.

The Swiss Family Robinson is packed full of adventures. I loved reading about the experiences the family went through. It’s interesting, as it made me consider whether a modern day family would cope in the same situation, and sadly I don’t think many would…I think this book would capture many an imagination!

Religion is quite prevalent in this story, as it is in many older pieces of fiction. I think this would be an interesting book to discuss in a faith school. I also think this story could inspire lots of creativity and drama in a school which is always a fantastic thing, in my eyes!

I haven’t seen the movie version of this book, so I can’t comment on how it is different. I’m very intrigued to know what the movie is like, so if you’ve seen it, let me know what it’s like!

For Beth’s brilliant review, check out her blog HERE.

Next up on Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit:
Swallows and Amazons- Arthur Ransome

2 thoughts on “Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit: The Swiss Family Robinson

  1. I read this book as a rapid reader back in school. I simply didn’t enjoy it. Actually I had read Robinson Crusoe before it and I had loved that book. Swiss Robinson seemed like a adapted family version of the former.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

