Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit: Anne of Green Gables

8127

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

Everyone’s favorite redhead, the spunky Anne Shirley, begins her adventures at Green Gables, a farm outside Avonlea, Prince Edward Island. When the freckled girl realizes that the elderly Cuthberts wanted to adopt a boy instead, she begins to try to win them and, consequently, the reader, over.

Thoughts:

I vividly remember this being Beth’s favourite book when she was younger. Or one of them… she had many favourites! We’ve always been bookworms. I have to admit, I didn’t read it as a child, so I was excited to see what the fuss was all about. I’m happy to say that I thought Anne of Green Gables was a charming read. I can see why it’s a classic. I can’t believe that it’s over 100 years old. It didn’t feel as dated as some of the books that I read.

Anne of Green Gables centres around Anne Shirley who comes to live with Marilla and Matthew, two siblings that have decided to adopt a boy to help out on their farm. Imagine their shock, when they find red-headed, chatty Anne waiting for them at the station. Anne is certainly a character. She’s witty, fun and probably one of the most intelligent characters that I’ve read about. Matthew is instantly charmed by Anne, as many readers also are too. She barely stops for a breath when she talks. She’s inquisitive and eager to impress and learn. Her imagination is incredible.

With this book, it was the characters that really captured my attention. I instantly adored Anne and loved reading about her life on the farm. It is certainly a book that I could see myself revisiting (…if time wasn’t an issue!)

For Beth’s review please visit her blog HERE

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

Reading next in the Kid-Lit Challenge (November):
White Fang- Jack London

18 thoughts on “Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit: Anne of Green Gables

  1. Pingback: Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit 2014 – OCTOBER READ – Anne Of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery | bibliobeth

      • I don’t actually know. I got it as a gift as a child, and re read it this year and I just couldn’t stand it. Anne talks far too much and I found that that was one of the main reasons I wanted to throw the thing into the fire.

        I don’t usually dislike books but Anne of Green Gables is not my favourite. 😛

  2. Oh, I remember loving this series so much! I can’t recall the exact plot, but there are some things that stayed in mind, especially in the later books. They’re really good! I don’t think I’ll reread them anytime soon though, I don’t want to ruin it in case I wouldn’t like them anymore. 😀

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

