A Little Something Different

20801166

How did I get it?:
Netgalley- thanks to Macmillan Children’s Books!

Synopsis:

Lea and Gabe are in the same creative writing class. They get the same pop-culture references, order the same Chinese food and hang out in the same places. Unfortunately, Lea is reserved, Gabe has issues, and despite their initial mutual crush it looks like they are never going to work things out.

But somehow, even when nothing is going on, something is happening between them, and everyone can see it. Their creative-writing teacher pushes them together. The baristas at the local Starbucks watch their relationship like a TV show. Their bus driver tells his wife about them. The waitress at the diner automatically seats them together. Now they just need to realize that they’re meant for each other, and start falling in love . . . This irresistible romance is told by all the people who are willing love to blossom in a unique multi-voice narrative structure. It is perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell and John Green.

Thoughts:

A Little Something Different didn’t take long for me to read at all. It is a quirky, sweet book and I can definitely see why it has been recommended for fans of Rainbow Rowell and John Green.

A Little Something Different is a little different to the rest of the books out there at the moment. It has lots of points of view, but instead of becoming confusing, I thought it really worked. From Baristas to main characters, from benches to squirrels- A Little Something Different is packed full of different perspectives that I believe all had a place in the story. The reader gets to know about Gabe and Lea who the story is centred around. It was an incredibly cutesy story. Some readers won’t get on with it because of that, but I thought it was charming and refreshing.

This book does read younger than Young Adult. Considering the character’s edge, I expected a bit more depth to the characters, but everything is always kept light. There’s a slice of sadness given what has happened to one of the characters, but it’s never dwelled upon for too long. That’s not necessarily a criticism, many readers including myself, often look for a lighter read in-between heavier books and A Little Something Different is perfect for this.

My only real niggle with this book, was that it started to become a bit repetitive for me considering it is a short read. I felt the romance itself was dragged out. Once you get past that though, it really is a cute read which I’m sure many will devour!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

A cutesy, quirky book which won’t take you long to read!

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “A Little Something Different

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.