Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit: White Fang

43035

How did I get it?:
Downloaded it free for my kindle!

Synopsis:

In the desolate, frozen wilds of northwest Canada, White Fang, a part dog, part wolf cub soon finds himself the sole survivor of a litter of five. In his lonely world, he soon learned to follow the harsh law of the North- kill or be killed.

But nothing in his young life prepared him for the cruelty of the bully Beauty Smith, who buys White Fang from his Indian master and turns him into a vicious killer- a pit dog forced to fight for money. Will White Fang ever know the kindness of a gentle master or will he die a fierce deadly killer?

Thoughts:

I remember my sister Beth really enjoying this book when we were younger. Back then, Beth wasn’t the book pusher she is today! (I say with affection 😉 ) We decided to put White Fang on the list for our Kid-Lit Challenge, so I could explore it and Beth could revisit it. I thought White Fang was beautifully written, but I didn’t feel as immersed in the story as I would have liked to have been.

White Fang is a brilliant adventure which I think would capture the imagination of many readers. It follows a wolf-dog from before conception right through his life. I loved how I felt like I was in the mind of White Fang, following his actions enabling me to understand how what happened in his life and his own intelligence turned him into who he was.

I think White Fang would definitely appeal to male teenagers. Of course, it does have a wider appeal as well, but I can imagine reluctant readers becoming incredibly engrossed with the story! It has a good amount of action which keeps you turning the pages.

For Beth’s wonderful review, click HERE

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

Last book in the Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit Challenge 2014:
The Secret Garden- Frances Hodgson Burnett

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

