Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit: The Secret Garden

The Secret Garden

How did I get it?:
I downloaded it free for my kindle!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
A Little Princess

Synopsis:

When orphaned Mary Lennox comes to live at her uncle’s great house on the Yorkshire Moors, she finds it full of secrets. The mansion has nearly one hundred rooms, and her uncle keeps himself locked up. And at night, she hears the sound of crying down one of the long corridors.

The gardens surrounding the large property are Mary’s only escape. Then, Mary discovers a secret garden, surrounded by walls and locked with a missing key. One day, with the help of two unexpected companions, she discovers a way in. Is everything in the garden dead, or can Mary bring it back to life?

Thoughts:

I loved revisiting this delightful book for children. Frances Hodgson Burnett truly is a wonderful writer, whose work still seems so relevant today. It’s not as old fashioned as you might expect. It is just a joy to read and discover with children.

I think The Secret Garden is particularly up-lifting. It’s the story of Mary Lennox who begins the story with a grumpy, spoilt little madam moving from India to England as she loses her parents. Mary changes as she begins to experience the English countryside. She develops friendships which she’s never had before. Her new best friends are Dickon who is a down to earth, outdoorsy type and Colin who is Mary’s demanding cousin who is hidden away because he is sickly. Colin also changes as he experiences the outdoors and builds his friendships with Mary and Dickon.

I find this book incredibly charming. It is so easy to read and it just puts a smile on my face with its innocence. For Beth’s review, check out her blog!

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

Look out for the 2015 titles for Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit Challenge which I’ll post tomorrow!

12 thoughts on “Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit: The Secret Garden

  1. Pingback: Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit 2014 – DECEMBER READ – The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett | bibliobeth

  2. Lovely review! The secret Garden is one of my faves, but a Little Princess will always hold a special place in my heart ^^ I agree – it’s a very sweet and charming book.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

