Chrissi Chat-The trouble with book-movie adaptations

dont-judge-a-book-by-its-movie

I have a problem.

I really struggle to watch movies that have been adapted from books!. I’ve had so many that have ruined the book but at the same time I know that there are some great ones out there. So do I try to attempt to watch more? I’m not sure.

Regular readers to my blog will know that I absolutely ADORE Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. It’s being adapted this year and I’m terrified. Do I watch it and potentially have my favourite book ruined?

Another favourite book of mine is The Help by Kathryn Stockett. I recently watching the film with my sister and we absolutely adored how faithful the book is. The Harry Potter adaptations are good too…not as good as the books in my opinion, but good enoughΒ to watch!

I prefer to read the book first anyway. I often find the book stretches my imagination more and allows me to create my own picture of the character.

Do you watch or avoid adaptations? Do you try to read the book first? Which adaptations do you really love? Let me know!

29 thoughts on “Chrissi Chat-The trouble with book-movie adaptations

  1. I try my best to read the book first, mainly because I know the book is better most of the time. I am excited about Me Before You becoming a movie. I hadn’t heard that news. I loved the book. Every time I hear that a movie is being made out of a book I love, I am equal parts excited and terrified. I do really like the Hunger Games adaptation. I think they have done a wonderful job with that one.

    • I am pleased that you’re happy about the movie release. It’s nice to have a movie to look forward to! Fingers crossed that they do a good job of the movie. I think I’m going to have to wait to see it, so my friends/bloggers can check it out for me first! Ha! I have really liked The Hunger Games movies so far. They’ve been good adaptations.

  2. Well weirdly enough for me, if the movie sucks and it was adapted from a book I really loved, the movie doesn’t really taint or ruin my good memories of reading that book! I just feel like its a bad movie but I don’t really subconsciously associate my negative feelings about the movie with the book it was adapted from! πŸ˜› || And I also prefer to read the book first because I don’t want the movie to spoil the ending for me and as you said, its a way more involved experience (using your imagination, etc.) πŸ™‚

  3. I think it is better to view movie and book as a separated thing. They are different mediums so they are bound to be different. I find that I usually enjoy the thing I experience first more. As in, if I watch the movie first I will like it a little bit more, and the same thing for the book. But the book will always have more details and you get a better comprehension of the characters. I think the key is to not let the movie ruin it for you; see it as a separate thing, as something that was inspired by the book.
    One adaptation that I really love and that is quite different from the book in tone (but still caring a lot of the same elements) is Stardust, based on the novel by Neil Gaiman. This is one that I don’t see being talked about a lot and I love both movie and book in different ways.
    Anyway, great discussion!

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚ It’s been great to read people’s views. I definitely need to think about separating the movie from the book and try to enjoy them for what they both are! It’s just hard when they’re a firm favourite!

  4. I ALWAYS read the book before the movie. Spoilers, awesomeness…everything. But I only allow myself to watch the movie once I’m done with the book. But I guess we don’t always get Book-to-Movie adaptions as we want them. We only need to look at Eragon and Percy Jackson for that.

    Haha, what I do want though, is a five-hour adaption with every single scene and dialogue and character quirk from the book! πŸ˜‰

  5. Hi. What a coincidence – I wrote about book-inspired movies for yesterday’s Top Ten Tuesday (see link below) and ‘Me Before You’ is one of the movies that I look forward to watching this year. I haven’t even read the book!

    I agree with you to a certain extent – book adaptations tend to disappoint book lovers. However I believe most movie goers will read the book if they enjoy watching the movie. Well in my case, I’m more likely to read a book if there will be a movie version of the said book.

    So far movies that have been (almost) faithful to the books are The Fault in Our Stars, Perfume: The Story of a Murderer (and some other titles that I have forgotten). I read that The Prestige and Stardust are another impressive books-turned-movies. πŸ™‚

    https://ssreaderscorner.wordpress.com/2015/01/20/top-ten-most-eagerly-awaited-book-inspired-movies/

    • Ooh that is interesting! I really hope you enjoy Me Before You (both the movie and the book which I hope you get to!). The book is packed full of emotional moments. I definitely need to watch The Fault In Our Stars. I’ve heard amazing things and I wasn’t the biggest fan of the book, so that shouldn’t affect my opinion too much! I shall look at your Top Ten post now!

  6. I try to go into the movie with in open mind, knowing they made changes for the people who will never read the book or because some scenes just won’t work in movie form. I can deal with that as long as it’s changes that make sense. I loved the adaptation of The Green Mile, one of my favourites by far:)

    • Oh yes. I think it’s important that changes make sense. I’ve seen some adaptations that change the ending and that really frustrates me! I need to try be more open minded about watching movies!

  7. I ALWAYS read the book first. The only one film I have watched before reading the book was War Horse, but after watching it I went straight out to get the book. I actually quite enjoy them, when done well because I like seeing other peoples interpretations of the book. I loved the HP films but there were definitely parts of that they I had imagined differently, so I found it really interesting.

      • The film is REALLY good, such an amazingly talented horse that plays Joey, you should definitely watch it!!! One of the most interesting things I found with HP was that when I read the books there were certain ways that I pronounced words and names in my head, but then in the films they are pronounced the correct way. Dementor, for one, was not something that I was pronouncing correctly!

  8. Recently I have had the opposite happening to me… Like I’ll LOVE a movie and when I read the book, I’m like BLAH. The Hunger Games and Silver Linings Playbook were 2 of those. Totally liked the movies better…. maybe JLaw has something to do with this??? IDK. Anyway TFIOS movie was nowhere near up to par with the book, so I know what you mean. I usually always love love love the book better. I’m scared for the Leonard Peacock movie…. how will that live up???

    • It is worrying when it’s a book you really adore! I’m not surprised you ❀ JLaw! I've read the book of Silver Linings Playbook, but I'm yet to watch the movie. I've heard it is quite different!

  9. I think it depends. I loved (mostly) the Harry Potter movies, LOTR, and The Maze Runner. I also enjoyed The Hunger Games and Catching Fire ( I haven’t seen Mockingjay yet). No matter what, I always read the book first because there is so much more than you can possibly fit in a movie. The only case where I liked a movie adaptation more than the book was Stardust. I was really shocked because I love Neil Gaiman

  10. I almost always read the book first, but sometimes I find that this can ruin the movie for me. I’ve noticed that I’m more inclined to like both the book and the movie if I see the movie first, because the movie tends to stray from the plot a little which works fine if you just ignore the original text (this is how I felt with North and South, The Princess Diaries, and Stardust). And then there are other times when I read the book first and end up liking the movie better (which was the case with me and Divergent). I’ve always been a firm believer of “Book First, Movie Second,” but now maybe I should be more open to seeing Me Before You in theaters first and then picking up the book afterwards. I can enjoy books even if I know what’s going to happen–my overall opinion of a story usually depends on if I like the characters or not.

  11. I will pretty much always see the movie adaptation but ALWAYS after I’ve read the book and I’ve trained myself to go in with low expectations. The one movie that I feel really lived up to the book was Catching FIre but again I was soooo disappointed in THG movie that it could play a part in my love for the movie. Oh and TFIOS! I adored that one too but pretty much every other movie just leaves too many important bits out which always irks.

  12. I tend to read the book first before the movie, or at least I try. I’ve missed out on some really good adaptations last year because I didn’t read the book yet. πŸ˜› I just feel really bad when a book that I love gets a bad movie adaptation. :/

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

