Water Born

20653947

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
The Drowning

Synopsis:

Nicola’s dad has been terrified around water for as long as she can remember, and will never come to watch her swim. But then Nicola starts to hear a voice in the pool which changes everything. When girls start drowning, who’s to blame? What secrets lurk beneath the surface?

Thoughts:

I really enjoyed The Drowning which was one of my surprise favourite books last year and a book that I quite commonly include in my Top Ten lists. Although this book is part of the series, I think it could be a good standalone read. You don’t necessarily need to have read The Drowning to enjoy Water Born. With Water Born, Rachel Ward has created another fabulously creepy and eerie read. It certainly kept me turning the pages and not so keen to be in open water…

Water Born centres around Nicola who swims for the local swimming team. Her father isn’t happy with her hobby, but he lets her do it. Nicola soon notices her Dad becoming very strange around water and she discovers articles concerning girls around Nicola’s age that have drowned. She wonders why he has an obsession with water. Her mother passes it off as some sort of OCD, but Nicola is not convinced. Alongside seeing a boy at the bottom of the pool, life is becoming stranger by the minute.

I don’t want to say too much about this story, but I assure you, if you’re into Young Adult thrillers- there’s definitely enough to satisfy you in this story!

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

A thrilling read that makes you think long after you’ve finished!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

