A Week In The Life of A Primary PGCE Student: Job searching already?

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my massive new venture. I am going to University to train to be a primary school teacher. I will be trained to work with 5-11 year olds. It’s known to be a very, very stressful time so I’m hoping I can channel my thoughts and feelings into a blog post. It gives you an insight into what’s going on in my life and hopefully it’ll be incredibly therapeutic for me. I will NOT be naming any children, schools or teaching staff. I won’t even mention what University I’m at. I hope that’s understandable. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind!

Time is really running away from me at the moment. Amidst lectures and seminars, university reading and essay writing I can’t believe that in just 2 weeks I’ll be back in school again. I’m really looking forward to it, even if it means I have two brand new assignments to work on. This coming week will see me having 2 assignments in and 2 to go. I’m pretty sure before I know it I’ll be on my final placement. People on my course are attending job interviews and it’s scaring me slightly. I have started to look at job applications. It seems too early, but the way time is going it’ll all be over before I know it.

Monday

On Monday, I received one of my assignments back! I passed! I am very pleased about it, because I know I didn’t put as much effort into it as I should have done. Naughty me. Monday was full of more practical experiments and hands on learning. I really like my Mondays.

Tuesday

Tuesday felt like a very long day. I have English on a Tuesday and whilst I very much enjoy it, I can sometimes find it a little intense. I also have the pressure of a 4000 word essay looming over me, so in my gaps between seminars I try to be focused and do something productive (this doesn’t always happen…).

Wednesday

I was happy to finish two of the foundation subjects on Wednesday. That’s me trained to teach two more subjects. Eek! Scary thought.

Thursday

Thursday’s Maths was incredibly taxing for me. I really relished the challenge though. I’m constantly surprised at how much I enjoy learning about Maths considering the troubles I had with it when I was younger.

Friday

Friday brought more full on lectures and seminars, but I found it interesting and thought provoking. I’m finding this semester much more helpful than the last. I don’t know if it’s because I have been in school now, so I can identify with the content much more!

I can’t believe that this time last year I was being interviewed for this course and handing my notice in at my job. Life has been pretty full on these past 12 months and it’s not looking like slowing down any time soon. But I’m happy. I’m where I want to be.

 

3 thoughts on “A Week In The Life of A Primary PGCE Student: Job searching already?

  1. 😀 glad its all going well for you- that’s gone by super quick. i think it was around this time last year I started following your blog, Chrissi, and I remember when you handed in your notice at your job to start the course!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

