Love Hurts

23454354

How did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Random House Children’s Publishers UK

Synopsis:

Malorie Blackman brings together the best teen writers of today in a stunningly romantic collection about love against the odds. Featuring short stories and extracts about modern star-crossed lovers from stars such as Gayle Forman, Markus Zusak and Patrick Ness, and with a brand-new story from Malorie Blackman herself, Love Hurts looks at every kind of relationship, from first kiss to final heartbreak.

Thoughts:

I was SO excited about this book. However, I was a little disappointed when I got to it. I thought that this book was going to be original stories from some authors that I loved. There are some great original stories in there, but they’re few and far between. What I actually found was that I skipped a lot of these stories- either because I had read them already and didn’t feel like reading them again…or I have the full book waiting to be read and I didn’t want it to spoil it.

I don’t want to put people off this book though as the extracts from the authors I love like Malorie Blackman and Patrick Ness are such high quality writing- it’s just not what I wanted from this collection of short stories. James Dawson’s original story is good and well worth reading.

This book would be perfect for those wanting to dip into some of these author’s writing or to read the original content that there is. I love the range of diversity there is within this collection.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

Some good original content, but don’t expect to go into the book with fresh, new material from all of the authors! 

2 thoughts on “Love Hurts

  1. The cover is gorgeous! I was really excited for this when I thought it was a short story anthology (like My True Love Gave to Me) but now I’m pretty wary since it contains excerpts from full novels that I’ll probably want to get around to reading one day…almost like they needed to pad the collection to be longer so they pulled from pre-existing books *sigh*

    • I would be wary. There’s no denying that the authors included are talented but if you’re reading the full novel then it’s best to go for that first. Only my opinion though. It might give you a nice little slice of it all.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

