Vendetta by Catherine Doyle #readUKYA

Vendetta (Blood for Blood, #1)

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

When five brothers move into the abandoned mansion next door, Sophie Gracewell’s life changes forever. Irresistibly drawn to bad boy Nic Falcone, Sophie finds herself falling into an underworld governed by powerful families. When Sophie’s own family skeletons come to life, she must choose between two warring dynasties \- the one she was born into, and the one she is falling in love with. When she does, blood will spill and hearts will break …

Thoughts:

I hadn’t heard about this book until Lucy picked it for #readUKYA. I’m so glad Lucy picked it though, as I thought it was an incredibly different YA read. It is loosely based on Romeo and Juliet, so of course, I wasn’t expecting a happily ever after. I love YA that dares to be as gritty as Vendetta is. It sets itself apart in the genre.

Vendetta is a dramatic, tense thriller which is going to be a trilogy. I can certainly see that it’s set itself up well to continue the story. It’s action packed and full of grudges and revenge. Once I got into it, I found it hard to put down. I raced through it once I got half way through. The book certainly picks up pace! I wanted to know what on earth was going to happen. I didn’t find it easy to predict which is always a bonus.

The characters are so interesting in this book. I was immediately invested in both the good and bad character’s stories. I can’t wait to see how the series progresses.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

An exciting, gritty start to the Blood for Blood Saga!

7 thoughts on “Vendetta by Catherine Doyle #readUKYA

  1. I’m glad you liked this because the synopsis REALLY interested me, but the cover made it seem like it may be more of a fluffy contemporary (or even cheesy) BUT I’m so glad to hear it’s so gritty!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

