Beth and Chrissi Do Kid Lit- Five Children and It

Five Children and It (Five Children, #1)

How did I get it?:
Downloaded free for my Kindle!

Synopsis:

The five children find a cantankerous sand fairy or ‘psammead’ in a gravel pit. Every day ‘It’ will grant each of them a wish that lasts until sunset, often with disastrous consequences.

Thoughts:

I can’t believe that I hadn’t read this book! Beth picked this book for us to read after finding out about it late last year. I think it’s an absolutely charming book, but The Railway Children still remains my favourite out of the books that I have read from this author.

This book follows five children and the Psammead (a fairy) who grants them their wishes. Through short chapters, it explores the children’s adventure. The moral of this story is very much ‘Be careful what you wish for’. This is a great topic to discuss with young children and I imagine children might enjoy predicting what was going to happen! Five Children and It is an incredibly imaginative story, and whilst parts of it feel rather dated, I could let that go and enjoy the story for what it was.

Although I enjoyed reading Five Children and It, I felt like the ending was a little rushed and not really thought through which lead to me giving this book three stars instead of four. I was surprised to find out that there are more books in this series, but I personally won’t be continuing on with it!

For Beth’s brilliant review, check out her blog HERE

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

Reading next for the Kid-Lit Challenge:
Pollyanna- Eleanor H.Porter

3 thoughts on “Beth and Chrissi Do Kid Lit- Five Children and It

  1. Pingback: Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit 2015 – JANUARY READ – Five Children And It by E. Nesbit | bibliobeth

  2. Hopping over from the British Books Challenge…

    As an American, E. Nesbit wasn’t part of my childhood but is an author I’ve heard a lot about in the last couple of years. Maybe I’ll try The Railway Children, first!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

