All Fall Down

How did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Hatchette Children’s Books

Previously read by the same author:
I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have To Kill You

Synopsis:

Grace is absolutely certain of three things:

1. She isn’t crazy.

2. Her mother was murdered.

3. Someday she’s going to find the man with the scar, and then she is going to make him pay.

As certain as Grace is about these facts, nobody else believes her – so there’s no one she can completely trust. Not her grandfather, a powerful ambassador. Not her new friends, who all live on Embassy Row. Not Alexei, the Russian boy next door who is keeping an eye on Grace for reasons she neither likes nor understands.

Everybody wants Grace to put on a pretty dress and a pretty smile, blocking out all her un-pretty thoughts. But they can’t control Grace – no more than Grace can control what she knows or what she needs to do.

Her past has come back to hunt her . . . and if she doesn’t stop it, Grace isn’t the only one who will get hurt.

Because on Embassy Row, the countries of the world all stand like dominoes, and one wrong move can make them all fall down.

Thoughts:

I wanted to try out another book by Ally Carter after not raving about the Gallagher Girls first book (I know, I’m one of the few that wasn’t engrossed by them!) I thought All Fall Down was a good read, which I think fans of Ally Carter will absolutely lap up. It’s well written and engaging!

All Fall Down centres around Grace, who has sadly witnessed her mother’s death. Three years after the horrible event, Grace is sent to live with her ambassador Grandfather. Grace used to spend her summer as a child with her Grandfather so she’s used to the area. Grace discovers that the man she believes murdered her mother is also living nearby. Grace decides to bring him down whatever it takes.

Many readers will be able to relate to Grace when they read her struggles to be taken seriously by those older than her. This book is action packed and its plot is interesting and I imagine will grip many readers. It’s full of adventure, espionage and politics told in a very straight forward manner. I’m definitely not the target reader for this book, but I’m glad I read it so I can recommend it to others.

There are parts of this book that aren’t tied neatly together, but this is understandable given that it is the first book in the series. I think it’s definitely worth trying, especially if you’re a fan of this genre!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes- definitely for fans of Ally Carter!

Fans of Ally Carter should enjoy this action packed story!

10 thoughts on “All Fall Down

  1. I’m about 60% through this book now, hoping to post my review on releasse day tomorrow. While I don’t hate it, it isn’t exactly gripping me either

  2. I have this book and lookin forward to reading it. I have read the first book in the Gallgher girls series and although it was good it wasn’t amzing. I will be reading the next one in the series though 🙂

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

