A Week In The Life of A Primary PGCE Student: Things are starting to wrap up!

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my massive new venture. I am going to University to train to be a primary school teacher. I will be trained to work with 5-11 year olds. It’s known to be a very, very stressful time so I’m hoping I can channel my thoughts and feelings into a blog post. It gives you an insight into what’s going on in my life and hopefully it’ll be incredibly therapeutic for me. I will NOT be naming any children, schools or teaching staff. I won’t even mention what University I’m at. I hope that’s understandable. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind!

I feel really weird at the moment. A lot of my subject knowledge sessions in the curriculum areas are coming to a close. We have 3 weeks at a school, a week or so at university and then the rest of the course is on placement. This both scares me and excites me at the same time. The job hunt has started, some people in my university class are getting interviews, getting jobs and I just feel like I’m trundling along, waiting for the right thing!

This week we’ve had a lot of practical (and outdoor !) sessions and preparation for going into school placement for the next three weeks. I’m going to be with Key Stage 2. This is the oldest I’ve had to teach, so I’m a bit apprehensive but excited for a new challenge all the same.

Of course, my experience at school for the next 3 weeks isn’t going to be all fun and games. The university has kindly given us two assignments and directed tasks to work on.  What with my class, my university work and the job hunt it’s going to be very much a balancing act which I’m quickly learning will prepare me well for teaching!

Who knows how my first week with my new class will go. I’m excited/nervous! Come back next Sunday to see how I got on. Eek!!!!

4 thoughts on “A Week In The Life of A Primary PGCE Student: Things are starting to wrap up!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

