Chrissi Chat: Turning into a mood reader!

BookLove-380x380

Recently, I’ve come to realise that I’m turning into a mood reader. Usually, it wouldn’t bother me which book I picked up next. I could adapt to any kind of book. I’m finding now I have less time to read that I’m beginning to want to read certain books and have trouble committing to a book if I’m not in the mood.

What this means for me is that I’m having trouble getting through my old ‘schedule’ for my reading. I’m trying to be good and read my ARCs but sometimes I’m just not in the mood for them. I have had books I’ve wanted to read for ages, just waiting to be read, but again… not in the mood for them.

I end up forcing myself to pick up what I should be and I find I’m not engaged in the story. Is this because I don’t want to read it and there’s nothing wrong with the book itself? Should I put it down and try again later? Urgh, the struggles of a mood reader.

Can you identify with this? Being a mood reader is hard! I’m trying to be spontaneous and not so rigid in my reading choices. I’m trying to remember that when I give up on a book, it’s probably my fault and not the right time and place for that book at that moment.

What kind of reader are you? Do any mood readers out there have any tips? Let me know!

29 thoughts on “Chrissi Chat: Turning into a mood reader!

  1. I can typically get a pretty good sense if I’m not feeling a particular book because of the timing …. or because the book and I will probably just never get along. There was one book in a series I love that I just could. not. do …. until many books later and the third attempt. I ended up loving it but had to wait for the timing to be right, I guess. I’m gone from having a pretty set reading schedule to a rough idea of “these are things I might try and get to this year … all subject to massive changes as new titles enter my life” πŸ™‚

  2. I completely identify with you!:) Now I feel less alone in this annoying dilemma!;) I have a huge list of books I can’t wait to read but then I realise I have to be in a specific mood to want to start a certain book or to enjoy it as much as I can:( I probably don’t have any useful tips but maybe having a variety of books on hand can help!- like sometimes I’m in the mood for a light romance and others for high fantasy so it’s nice to try out the first few pages untilI feel engaged!
    Great post!:)

  3. Oh my gosh! I know how you feel! I’ve been trying to do that too! I guess.. well I don’t actually have any tips. But I think you should just go with it because like you said, forcing yourself to read something will just result in you DNFing or feeling negative about the book. I mean reading should be enjoyable so I guess you may as well wait until you really want to read that ARC…And then when you do, you’ll be glad you waited (hopefully!). πŸ˜€

  4. I have always been a mood reader! You just have to make sure that you have books suited to every mood in your arsenal so that you can go to the right one when you get there! πŸ™‚ Thats how I do it anyway…

  5. I am a huge mood reader but since I’ve started my blog I’m slowly transitioning to prioritize my reads. Like I have ARCs that I need to read within the deadlines so it’s hard! But I am definitely a mood reader haha

  6. I’m definitely a mood reader! It’s even worse when I can’t even tell what mood I’m in. I’ve finished some great books within the last month but keep struggling to pick what to read next. My best tip is to just give into the moods! Read whatever you want, whenever you want. It’s the only way to continue to enjoy reading without feeling pressured/stressed.

  7. I know exactly how you feel! Before I started blogging I didn’t notice it as much. I could take all the time in the world to read a book, and I didn’t feel like it mattered. Now, with deadlines and ARC’s haunting me… I think it’s triggered the mood reader in me! I’m usually good at guessing what I’m in the mood to read, but sometimes it’s a complete disaster, and I end up in a reading slump :/

    Sometimes it’s worse than others though, usually after I read a really amazing book, then the next one doesn’t live up to it. Since the beginning of the year, I’ve been alternating between and arc and one of my own, rinse and repeat. So far it’s helping a bit! I’m scratching off the list of arc’s which is always a good thing, and I’m reading books I’ve been wanting to read for a long time πŸ™‚

    • That’s a good idea. I think it’s important to get that balance. I definitely need to try to have some structure to my reading otherwise I’ll never get the ARCs read, and they should be a priority. Like others have said though, sometimes reading what you’re not in the mood for feels like a chore and reading really shouldn’t be!

      It’s so nice to read about other mood readers!

  8. I am starting to become a mood reader, I think. I have found a pretty good schedule for me, alternating between NA/Adult to YA so I mix things up. Then again, I read 2-4 books at once, so if I am not feeling one, I just jump to another. πŸ˜€

  9. I made a decision toward the end of last year to stick to mood reading as much as possible. I had a really great, detailed schedule of ARCs last year, and it ended up making me feel pressured and just sucked the joy out of reading. I’m trying to limit my reading commitments and go with my whims, and it’s been a huge improvement. I’ve also cut way back on requesting ARCs, which helps a lot. I figure I’ll eventually get through the ones I haven’t read yet, but my focus is on reading for my own pleasure this year — and I love it.

  10. I’m a huge mood reader! It does make reading ARCs a bit hard – but nowadays, I just request ARCs that I know I’ll 50% of the time be in the mood for! πŸ™‚ Maybe that’ll work for you too?
    Being a mood reader isn’t a bad lifestyle per se, it’s just a different way of life! πŸ˜›
    Geraldine @ Corralling Books

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

