Breaking The Rules

21859363

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Pushing The Limits
Dare You To
Crossing The Line
Crash Into You
Take Me On

Synopsis:

For new high school graduate Echo Emerson, a summer road trip out west with her boyfriend means getting away and forgetting what makes her so… different. It means seeing cool sights while selling her art at galleries along the way. And most of all, it means almost three months alone with Noah Hutchins, the hot, smart, soul-battered guy who’s never judged her. Echo and Noah share everything — except the one thing Echo’s just not ready for.

But when the source of Echo’s constant nightmares comes back into her life, she has to make some tough decisions about what she really wants — even as foster kid Noah’s search for his last remaining relatives forces them both to confront some serious truths about life, love, and themselves.

Now, with one week left before college orientation, jobs and real life, Echo must decide if Noah’s more than the bad-boy fling everyone warned her he’d be. And the last leg of an amazing road trip will turn… seriously epic.

Thoughts:

When I heard that Breaking The Rules was going to be about Noah and Echo, I was so excited. Noah and Echo are one of my favourite couples in contemporary romance! I loved their story in Pushing The Limits and couldn’t wait to devour more from Katie McGarry. Noah is one of my favourite male characters. He may be flawed, but I find him incredibly endearing in his love for his brothers and for Echo. This wasn’t a perfect read for me though which is why I have given it 3.5 stars.

This book picks up after Noah and Echo have graduated. They plan to go on a road trip so Echo can visit galleries across the country. At the beginning of this book, Noah and Echo are nearing the end of their trip and are due home to Kentucky in a week or so. The closer the time gets to leaving for home, the more questions that are raised about the future. Before they look to the future, they have to face their pasts, which we know, from Pushing The Limits, are rather troubled.

What I really liked about this book was that the love Noah and Echo have for each other is clear. You’re never left doubting about how they feel about each other. They’re just struggling with coming to terms with their past and thinking about the future they have together. Especially Echo. Echo has been through so much with the loss of her brother and the incident with her mother. Echo wants to move beyond all that and move forward with her art work. Noah is trying to prove that he’s better than the foster system he came from. He’s constantly trying to prove that he’s a better person and that he’s worthy of Echo’s love.

I really liked that other characters from the series popped up within this book. Isaiah and Beth are involved. I’m always happy when characters reoccur in future stories. It makes the reader feel really at home, especially if they’re particularly invested in the other characters stories. I adore Isaiah. I was never too keen on him until I read his story, but now he is potentially one of my favourite characters.

As I mentioned earlier in this review, this book only got 3.5 stars from me and the reason that is, is because I was getting a bit fed up of all the arguing over the same things. It’s totally believable that given Noah and Echo’s past that they would have issues to work on, but to me they were arguing over silly things. It became too repetitive for me. I know that relationships aren’t perfect but the arguments just seemed monotonous and it made me lose interest. I guess I just wanted more of a happy tale for two characters that I really care about!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes- 3.5 stars

An enjoyable continuation of the story, but beware it’s not easy going for Noah and Echo!

10 thoughts on “Breaking The Rules

  1. I started this one, but put it back on my TBR shelf. I didn’t get really far in, but it was already too repetitive for me. It seemed a lot of re-hashing of their first book instead of moving the characters along into something new. I still might read it some day, though, when I have less other books clamor ing for my attention.

    • Yes! I think that’s a good idea. It was a tad repetitive at times, so I can see why you wouldn’t really want to continue when there are so many other books out there. It’s worth returning too though, when you are less busy!

  2. Yes, yes, yes, I totally agreeing. What Noah and Echo were arguing over seemed silly. I also thought that is very too drama drama – and not in a good way.

    But I did still like it. Just not as much as the first. I did fall even more in love with Isaiah, though!

  3. I haven’t had a chance to read this one yet – But it’s on my endless pile of books to read. I do think however, that their little pesky arguments would drive me batty! Glad you enjoyed it overall!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

