A Week In The Life of A Primary PGCE Student: I survived this week…just about!

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my massive new venture. I am going to University to train to be a primary school teacher. I will be trained to work with 5-11 year olds. It’s known to be a very, very stressful time so I’m hoping I can channel my thoughts and feelings into a blog post. It gives you an insight into what’s going on in my life and hopefully it’ll be incredibly therapeutic for me. I will NOT be naming any children, schools or teaching staff. I won’t even mention what University I’m at. I hope that’s understandable. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind!

This week has been a very, very steep learning curve. It’s been very odd and I’m not even sure how to describe it.

The reason why we have a short 3 week placement is to carry out some studies on teaching. I feel somewhat separated from the class this time because I’m not doing as much teaching as I have previously. In a way, I felt like I was resorting back to my old job as a teaching assistant. It felt strange! I mean, I have really enjoyed working with the older children and it’s been nice to work with children on a small scale, but I guess I’m just ready for more.

I did teach on Friday though. Oh yes. I took the whole day which is something I had never experienced before as in my last placement I had a partner. That learning curve hit me again. I’ve seriously been so up and down this week. I’ve doubted myself, I’ve been proud, I’ve been disappointed, I’ve been annoyed.

I now have two days off to start writing my assignment. A 4000 word essay and presentation has to be prepared for within the three weeks placement, so I’m back to University in the coming week (as the schools are off on a break) for a few lectures on them. I’m hoping to get a lot of it planned and a lot of uni based reading completed in the coming week… as then for the 2 weeks after I shall be back at the school, back on that roller-coaster of emotions I’m sure.

I would like to thank my sister this week who has been so supportive in my moments of anxiety (Anxiety is a bitch!) Family are important to have around you always, but I need to honour how amazing my big sis has been to me this week (and always). Love you dude!

9 thoughts on “A Week In The Life of A Primary PGCE Student: I survived this week…just about!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

