Shiver The Whole Night Through

22554125

How did I get it?:
Requested from Hot Key Books, many thanks to them!

Synopsis:

After months of bullying and romantic heartbreak, seventeen-year-old Aidan Flood feels just about ready to end it all. But when he wakes up one morning to find that local beauty and town sweetheart Sláine McAuley actually has, he discovers a new sense of purpose, and becomes determined to find out what happened to her. The town is happy to put it down to suicide, but then one night Aidan gets a message, scratched in ice on his bedroom window: ‘I didn’t kill myself.’ Who is contacting him? And if Sláine didn’t end her own life… who did?

Thoughts:

I requested this book from Hot Key Books as I was particularly intrigued by the synopsis. I thought it sounded particularly intriguing with an element of mystery. That’s just what Shiver The Whole Night Through was. It has supernatural elements, with romance, murder and noir detective sandwiched in too. I found this book to be enjoyable enough to read, but I also found it frustrating at times.

I think one of the best things about Shiver the Whole Night Through was its setting. The woods features throughout the book and I found it to be incredibly chilling and atmospheric. The paranormal edge really added to the story as well. I was really engrossed in the story, until about halfway through and then Aidan, our main protagonist began to grate on me. Another positive aspect of this book was that I haven’t read a lot of Irish fiction (I need to rectify that!), but I found it interesting to learn about the Irish culture surrounding this book.

I think the problem with Aidan is that he’s not immediately likeable even though I did feel sorry for him due to the extent of the bullying that he suffered. I didn’t particularly like his attitude towards his peers and his parents. One might say that Aidan was a ‘typical’ teenager, but to me his lack of compassion got irritating. Perhaps he was supposed to be an unlikeable character? I don’t know, but this definitely wasn’t a hurdle that I could get past to enjoy the book more.

I kept reading this book because it gave me a very eerie feeling and I wanted to find out how it was going to end. I’m not sure I got the resolution I was looking for, but I thought the open ending was fantastic, it left me thinking for sure.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes- although I don’t think it’ll be for everyone…

Shiver The Whole Night Through isn’t a perfect read, but if you’re interested in paranormal reads and/or Irish fiction I think it’s worth giving it a go and making up your own mind!

2 thoughts on “Shiver The Whole Night Through

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

