Ten Book Related Problems I Have

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list are Ten Book Related Problems I Have!

Admitting my book related problems has almost been like therapy! Ha! 😀 Some of these ‘problems’ aren’t really problems at all. They’re just frivolous but they’ve been fun to think of!

  1. Buying more books when I have more than enough to be getting on with. An excuse I make is that I like to collect books (collect dust on the books rather…they sit on my shelves for ages!)
  2. Having an over-active imagination. I have to be careful with reading scary/creepy books as it plays on my mind for such a long time!
  3. I am so ‘precious’ about my books. My Gran recently read one of my books and she was scared to read it as my mum told her how pristine I expect my books to be. Oops. (*confession time* I only gave it to her to read as I knew it was one I wouldn’t keep!)
  4. When someone asks me to name my favourite book. It’s not going to happen. There are TOO many.
  5. When one of my favourite books is going to be made into a movie. Will it work? Will they screw it up? Should I watch it? DILEMMA.
  6. Spoilers. I hate being spoiled for ending of series. I try to be SO careful when I review series. It does make it trickier to write a review though!
  7. Waiting for the next book in the series can be painful. Especially when the series is SO good. It’s my excuse for being so shockingly behind with some series. At least if the books are all out then I don’t need to wait for them. Oh yes. It’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it. 😉
  8. I hate being told I read too much. What does it matter how much I read? At least I’m reading!
  9. Closely linked with number 8 are those friends that think it’s ‘weird’ that I read. Hmm… There are much worse things that I could do!
  10. Being too busy to read. This has happened a lot since starting my postgraduate degree. I SWEAR I hear my books crying out for me when I’m writing an essay, reading boring textbooks or planning lessons!

What are your book related problems? Feel free to leave a link to your post and I’ll stop by!

69 thoughts on “Ten Book Related Problems I Have

  1. I’m definitely the same way about letting others read my books! I hate being asked to lend out my novels because I’m so careful with them to an extent most people are not (and when they come back with dents/scratches/cracked spines it really irks me!)

  2. I’m also precious about my books, though I’ve written my name and the date in the front of a few books, and have really old bookplates in others. I couldn’t even bring myself to write or highlight in my textbooks at university. It was such a big deal when Richard Nixon died and my eighth grade social-studies teacher told us to go to the back, where all the presidents were listed, and write in 1994 as the death year. When I told my parents about this, my father laughed and said it was just an everyday occurrence for some of the kids in my class.

    My TTT

  3. YES to every single thing on this list. I too am very precious about my books – to the point that I don’t lend any out unless I don’t care about them. I’ve had too many ruined by friends who KNOW how I feel about my books… and yet, they come back with broken spines and stains. And I cannot handle creepy. I’m a total wuss. I won’t even buy a book with a creepy cover, because I won’t be able to look at it when I’m reading, which is a problem. I don’t think there’s such a thing as reading too much – I mean honestly. What’s that even MEAN???

    • I’m so glad that you can relate to my problems with being incredibly precious about my books! I tend to only lend them to my sister as I know she feels exactly the same way! As for reading too much, I’m completely with you. There’s NO such thing as reading too much.

  4. I think the book buying problem is one problem that will show on almost everyone’s list. haha. For series, I usually wait until all books released then read them back to back. Anyway, hope you’ll find more time to read! 🙂

  5. I have so many favourite books as well..I have real trouble coming up with my favourite 10 for each year! I think I’ll just maintain my favourites list on GR and point people to that 😛 Great list!

  6. I am guilty of #2.Sometimes all I think about is books,and I create bookish scenarios all the time.It makes me zone out often,especially when I am supposed to make small talk during boring situations:)

  7. I love your list and I relate to a LOT of these! I know I’ll never read all the books I own. Do I stop buying them? Nope. I try to reign myself in, but then there are SALES. And I can’t resist those. #3 is why I don’t let (most) people borrow my books. I’m really over-protective of them. #4 is the worst thing you can ask a book lover. I deflect this question ALL the time. Spoilers! Gah. I hate them. I really hate reviews with spoilers in them, which is why I’m really cautious about reading any reviews before I read a book.

    Great list!

    My TTT>!

    • Oh yes. I definitely try to avoid reading reviews of books I haven’t read yet, as I can’t guarantee that there won’t be spoilers! I really hate being spoiled about books. It completely ruins the reading experience. I’m glad that you could relate to a lot of my bookworm problems! 🙂

  8. Oh, I love your “problems”. Especially #8. I’ve been told I read too much my whole life. Seriously, is that a possibility? I laughed out loud at #3 – I don’t think it’s odd at all to want your books to be perfect, all the time, even after they’ve been read. 😉

  9. I can relate to buying too many books-I haven’t done this in a while because I have no money lol. Okay I’m definitely one of those people who is ‘precious’ about her books lol! I wouldn’t let my brother crack the spine of our Harry Potter books. My mom and brother used to make fun of me and then they’d catch me cracking the spine of a book and then they’d be like “oh no, you’re not supposed to read it that way.” Funnily enough, I don’t mind too many spoilers. I used to be hell bent on not getting a book spoiled, but I feel like I’ve ‘mellowed’ over the years about it.

  10. Being too busy to read is awful! I mean, it’s good that we have other things in our lives :), but this past week at work has been so insane that I’ve barely read, and that leaves me feeling sad and pitiful. Ha, your story about your Gran is so funny, and I totally relate. I had a mini-freak out once when my husband gave my father one of my books to take back on the plane with him. DH was like, “but it’s your father!”, and I said, “but it’s my book!”. Only other true bookworms understand.

  11. Oh! I hate spoilers and I really hate being told I read too much. I barely watch tv, so that is my trade off. You know, I also hate when people think I’m reading because I have nothing better to do. A book “collector, I like that. It sounds much better than a book boarder, lol. Great list!

    Michelle @ Michelle’s Minions

    My TTT

  12. Oh gosh, #7 is a huge problem for me right now. I just finished All Fall Down by Ally Carter and I am having a major book hangover. It’s not that it had a cliffhanger, it’s just that it was so good I want the next one RIGHT NOW. How am I going to wait a year for the next one to come out?! Ugh!….Okay, that the end of my rant… I think…

    I’m a new follower!

  13. I can’t read books that are too creepy or scary either – certainly not when it’s dark outside – I start to jump at every little noise! And I have a feeling my collection old, falling apart books with broken spines would highly distress you lol!

  14. Totally agree with #2! I have the same problem. Once I was up north in a cabin in the woods while reading The Bone Collector and it totally had me creeped out every night for days!

  15. I made a cow this year that I won’t purchase any more books until I finish what’s in my nightstand. So far so good! (Although we’re only into the second month so here’s to hoping I finish this trend!)

  16. Great list! I hate being too busy to read, it is one of the saddest things! And ugh, spoilers are the absolute worst. There should be a law 😉 Right there with you on the book buying thing too- I think we need a support group!

  17. I think most of my problems were related to buying too many books, but I can relate to most of the things you said as well. Especially with the way people in real life don’t get my reading habits.
    My list here

  18. Yeah I definitely have a problem with buying more books even though I have enough to keep me busy for like 2 years! And I remember being a teenager and my mom scolding me and telling me to not just go read or something but to do what she was asking me to do. How many teenagers can say that? Thanks for stopping by my blog! Have a great week! 😀

  19. I love this list!! And I feel the exact same way. Number one being the biggest problem (but is it really? 😉 hahah). I have the hardest time naming favorites as well, I’m always cycling around the same 5 most of the time though in a month. Waiting for the next book in a series is so dreadful. I try my best to space out series books but if it’s really good and zoom through them what am I to do?! Thank you for stopping by my blog last week ❤

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

