A Week In The Life of A Primary PGCE Student: Creeping closer to the finish line

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my massive new venture. I am going to University to train to be a primary school teacher. I will be trained to work with 5-11 year olds. It’s known to be a very, very stressful time so I’m hoping I can channel my thoughts and feelings into a blog post. It gives you an insight into what’s going on in my life and hopefully it’ll be incredibly therapeutic for me. I will NOT be naming any children, schools or teaching staff. I won’t even mention what University I’m at. I hope that’s understandable. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind!

This week has brought with it the end of my taught series of lectures. I can’t believe I’ve had all of the curriculum input that I’m going to get. I’m now on placement for the next couple of weeks, back at uni for some seminars and then I’m out on my final placement. MY FINAL PLACEMENT. How did that happen?! I feel like it wasn’t that long ago that I mentioned on here that I was leaving my job to start the course. Now I’m months away from being a qualified teacher.

I got an essay back this week which I did very well on. I was incredibly surprised. I feel like I can’t commit to the level of detail they want for a good essay, but somehow I managed it. Now I just need to bring that same level for my next two and I’ll have Masters credits. Exciting. Although I don’t think I’ll be attempting a Masters degree yet. I’m feeling very done with my own education and want to educate rather than be educated at this moment in time. Of course, working in education I will learn new things, but after July… the University environment is not where I plan to be for the new few years.

So a short but somewhat sweet update from me this week. I’m just gearing up for another two weeks in the primary school classroom. My favourite place to be!

6 thoughts on “A Week In The Life of A Primary PGCE Student: Creeping closer to the finish line

  1. Way to go Chrissi! And I totally understand what you mean about educating rather than being educated for a while 🙂 I have to get a Master’s degree in English Language and Literature, as well as in pedagogy before I become a full-fledged teacher, but being able to substitute is really great for the time being, as I get to both teach and be taught 🙂
    Have a great week ahead!

  2. Eeeeek! How excting and scary and wonderful! All the things! I’m proud of your Chrissi and I hope that this venture leads you into a successful and rewarding career! 😀

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

