Comparing ‘Pointe’ by Brandy Colbert

Pointe

Synopsis:

Theo is better now.

She’s eating again, dating guys who are almost appropriate, and well on her way to becoming an elite ballet dancer. But when her oldest friend, Donovan, returns home after spending four long years with his kidnapper, Theo starts reliving memories about his abduction—and his abductor.

Donovan isn’t talking about what happened, and even though Theo knows she didn’t do anything wrong, telling the truth would put everything she’s been living for at risk. But keeping quiet might be worse.

Click on the image to get to Luna’s blog!

Thoughts before you started reading Pointe?

CHRISSI: I admit, I was drawn in by the cover and the title. Ballet is one of my favourite dance disciplines. I may not be a ballet dancer, but I adore watching it. I then read the synopsis and immediately wanted to read it. I took forever to buy it for some reason! But as soon as I had it in my possession I knew I wanted to read it ASAP. So when it was my turn to pick a book for our Compare feature, I knew how much I share my passion for dance with Luna… therefore Pointe was a given!

LUNA: So there is a story to this. Back in November 2011 some *cough* Marieke *cough* emailed me about this book that had sold. I’m not sure if it was even on Goodreads at that time but I found Brandy Colbert’s blog and you know what my original comment is still on there!

brandypointe

I’ve wanted to read Pointe for so long but when I finally had a copy it in my hands I began to worry my expectation where too high. I mean I essential decided this was going to be one of the best books ever before I even read a single word…

I kept putting it off, until Chrissi picked it for our Compare Review.

What did you think of Theo?

CHRISSI: Theo is such an amazing character. She’s flawed, but she’s SO real. She comes so far throughout the story and the reader is with her every step of the way.

LUNA: Theo is one of the most amazingly real characters I’ve come across in YA. She’s flawed, yes but this isn’t a case of “insert flaw A here for effect, then flaw B there” Theo is a person. Things get messed up but Theo also excels. She’s so talented, determined and honest with herself, even when it hurts.

Best bit?

CHRISSI: Cheating to say.. ‘ALL OF IT!!!’ but it’s the truth. I haven’t felt so compelled to keep turning the page for a long time. I had so much university work to do, but this book made me shun all of the work and just keep reading. I had to!

LUNA: I’ve decided to select my Top 3 Theo moments:

1.      When Theo talks about ballet

2.      The moment Theo decides about her testimony

3.      The very end, I cheered. Keep walking.

Worst bit?:

CHRISSI: Not being able to save or support Theo from all of the hurt. My heart hurting for her.

LUNA: The Winter Formal. You could see it coming but sadly no one has invented a way for readers to step into books yet. If they had… how I wanted to go to Theo and even if I couldn’t save her from what was coming, at least to be there so she wasn’t alone. (I should not have been reading this book in public.)

Favourite character / moment?

CHRISSI: Theo’s strength despite everything! The ending was particularly powerful too.

LUNA: It sounds wrong to call this my favourite moment (because you thought of think of favourite things as stuff that makes you smile) but when Ruthie gives Theo a lift, that chapter. It’s amazing.

Was Pointe what you expected?

CHRISSI: It exceeded my expectations.

LUNA: Yes, I mean my expectations were rather high but I didn’t know how much I’d come to love Theo.

Would you recommend it?

CHRISSI: Without a doubt! 5 billion stars.

LUNA: Sunshine Star = affirmative, certainly, absolutely, of course, definitely, gladly, indubitably & without fail!

2 thoughts on “Comparing ‘Pointe’ by Brandy Colbert

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

