Beth and Chrissi Do Kid Lit- Pollyanna

Pollyanna (Pollyanna, #1)

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

When orphaned 11-year-old Pollyanna comes to live with austere and wealthy Aunt Polly, her philosophy of gladness brings happiness to her aunt and other members of the community, somewhat to their surprise.

Thoughts:

Pollyanna was originally published in 1913. It’s a book I was always conscious of, yet never read as a child. I read it for the first time in 2011 and remembered it fondly when I reread it for this challenge. Pollyanna is a sweet book, which is easy to read. It does have a moral to it, much like many books of its era. I do wonder if it now comes across as a little too preachy and sickly sweet, but as a children’s book- I think it’s a decent read.

If you’re not familiar with the story of Pollyanna then I shall briefly describe it. Pollyanna is a young, always optimistic girl. She is orphaned and sent to live with her Aunt. Pollyanna’s outlook on life changes the lives of others. Pollyanna always tries to find the ‘glad’ moment in everything. Terrible things can happen, but Pollyanna always looks at how it can be used in an optimistic way to make you grateful for everything you have.

As I mentioned, I think many adults would find Pollyanna’s message quite hard to swallow. There are times in life when you do want to grumble and moan. It gets things off your chest and feels good sometimes!

I think Pollyanna means well though. It definitely reminds readers that not a lot can be gained from being horrible to others. A good, positive message to give to young children.

For Beth’s wonderful review, please check out her blog HERE

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

Reading next for the Beth and Chrissi do Kid Lit Challenge:
Diary of a Wimpy Kid- Jeff Kinney

3 thoughts on “Beth and Chrissi Do Kid Lit- Pollyanna

  1. Pingback: Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit 2015 – FEBRUARY READ – Pollyanna by Eleanor H. Porter | bibliobeth

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

