Top Ten Books For Readers That Like Plot Twists

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list are the Top Ten Books We’d recommend for readers that… I picked readers that like plot twists and have specifically picked some psychological thrillers within my list!

Books are in no particular order with book images going to the Goodreads page!

16074758 Gone Girl

Dangerous GirlsAbigail Haas- I wasn’t sure what I was going to make of this book, but I was absolutely pulled into the story. I adored it.

Gone GirlGillian Flynn– I read Gone Girl several years ago and I still think about it. This is very much a love it or hate it book. I definitely fell in love with it. Amy is such a messed up character. One of the most messed up I’ve read.

Room Cuckoo

RoomEmma Donoghue- I think this book is incredibly compelling. It’s thought provoking.

CuckooJulia Crouch– This was one of the first psychological thrillers that I got into. I really enjoy Julia Crouch’s writing. This book is particularly messed up!

Undone Big Little Lies

Undone Cat Clarke– The ending of this book caused my mouth to drop open!

Big Little LiesLiane Moriarty– An edgy look at disastrous parent’s evening. I love Liane Moriarty’s writing.

Me Before You Before I Go To Sleep

Me Before YouJojo Moyes- The plot twist comes in the middle of this book. I wanted it to end differently to how it did. I think it’s the only time I hoped for a clichéd ending. I didn’t get it. I will forever include this book in Top Ten lists.

Before I Go To SleepS.J Watson– I read this book around the same time as Gone Girl. There were a lot of dark books around at the time, but this one still sticks in my mind. I think it’s so thrilling as the reader only ever knows as much as the character. It slowly builds to its twist.

My Sister's Keeper Knife Edge (Noughts & Crosses, #2)

My Sister’s KeeperJodi Picoult- This is the first Jodi Picoult book that I read and I wasn’t expecting the ending! I haven’t seen the film, but the book certainly made an impact on me.

Knife EdgeMalorie Blackman– I couldn’t believe the ending of this book. I can’t wait to read the next instalment!

Who did you recommend books for this week? Feel free to leave a link to your post and I shall stop by!

52 thoughts on “Top Ten Books For Readers That Like Plot Twists

    • Oh yes. I haven’t watched the movie because I had heard they had changed the ending. That’s a massive no no for me! I HIGHLY recommend Jojo Moyes. She’s one of my favourites!

  1. “Room” and “My Sister’s Keeper” DEFINITELY had some serious plot twists going on! i haven’t read any of the other books on your list, though I might have to add them to my TBR now! great post!

  2. From your list, the only book I have read is My Sister’s Keeper, but I definitely agree. I wasn’t expecting the book to go the way it did. Several of the other books on your list (Gone Girl, Me Before You, and Room) are on my radar, so I’m looking forward to getting to them.

    This week, I discussed books with atmospheric settings.

  3. Great topic, and great choices! I’ve read 6 of your 10, and can’t argue with any of them. 🙂 Room is so hard to read, and I love all of the twisty books you’ve included, especialiy Big Little Lies and Before I Go To Sleep!

  4. Great idea! I love a good plot twist! So many people are talking about Dangerous Girls. I really need to read it. I think the biggest plot twists ever was in a series, the Sweep series by Cate Tiernan. At the end of the third book the ENTIRE story got flipped on it’s head. Awesome list!

    Michelle @ Michelle’s Minions

  5. DON’T WATCH THE FILM for My Sister’s Keeper. It totally ruined everything! The book was so fantastic though. I didn’t “like” the twist but it was still GOOD!
    Oh and yes, Gone Girl… I know a lot of people hated it (especially the “intellectual” types?) but I loved it and I thought the twisty bits were so evil and incredible to read. Great list!

    • I have heard that the movie ruins everything! Thank you for the warning 😀 I don’t get why the ‘intellectual’ types hated it. I thought it was evil like you did, and I vividly remember it quite some time after finishing it!

  6. Such a good topic! I love plot twists and I love a lot of the books on your list (esp Gone Girl). In terms of YA I would say the Burn by Burn series by Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian and We Were Liars by E. Lockhart both have some really juicy twists in them!

  7. What a great topic – plot twists. I’ve read several of these and liked some better than others. I did not care that much for Gone Girl. I know, but Amy gave me the creeps.
    Liked Before I Go To Sleep and loved Big Little Lies. The audio of that one is really, really good. My Sister’s Keeper is a good one too. And I’m sitting here looking at Cuckoo on my shelf. Guess I should pull that one out and read it. Lovely list!

    Mine are always about mysteries/crime novels. It’s what I love.

  8. Great list ! I absolutely LOVE plot twists, especially when then leave you breathless and in shock…actually, a good plot twist should be all about that, right 🙂 The Cat Clarke book intrigues me a lot, I think I’m going to check it out, thanks 😀
    You can check out my list, if you have some time : http://wp.me/p5pugy-8L 😀

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

