A Week In The Life of A Primary PGCE Student: I have my new school!

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my massive new venture. I am going to University to train to be a primary school teacher. I will be trained to work with 5-11 year olds. It’s known to be a very, very stressful time so I’m hoping I can channel my thoughts and feelings into a blog post. It gives you an insight into what’s going on in my life and hopefully it’ll be incredibly therapeutic for me. I will NOT be naming any children, schools or teaching staff. I won’t even mention what University I’m at. I hope that’s understandable. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind!

This week has been a bit of an odd one. We haven’t had many University sessions. We’re supposed to have been writing our assignments that are due in next week. I have to admit, I have completed some work on our assignment days, but I’ve also kept up with some reading too (Oops 😉 ) I’ve also been filling in some job applications for teaching positions starting in September and I’ve visited a few schools too (part of the application process!).

It’s scary to think that I’m nearing the end of the course. I feel like I’m becoming anxious about getting a job for September. I know it’s still early days, but a lot of people on my course are getting jobs and I can’t help but compare myself to them.

I also found out my final school this week. It’s closer to home (Hallelujah!) and seems like a nice school. I start working there very soon! I’m going to be in Key Stage 1 which are 5-7 year olds. It’ll be a big shock from the last few months as I’ve been working with children from 9-11!  I’m ready (but nervous) for a new challenge though.

 

8 thoughts on “A Week In The Life of A Primary PGCE Student: I have my new school!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

